The Old Chapel and library at UMass Amherst
Equity and Inclusion

UMass ADVANCE Announces 2023-24 Faculty Fellows

UMass ADVANCE has announced 49 faculty members as the 2023-24 cohort of ADVANCE Faculty Fellows. The selected members, each representing different units, will partner with UMass ADVANCE to promote gender and racial equity for faculty at UMass Amherst.


Faculty Fellows provide recommendations and feedback to the team about ADVANCE programming and liaise with their departments to promote the ADVANCE program. They also inform ADVANCE about successful equity and inclusion initiatives in their units.

Through a combination of research, programming, and practices, UMass ADVANCE seeks to understand systemic and intersectional inequalities at UMass Amherst and to lay the groundwork for a fairer, more equitable, diverse, and inclusive campus. Every year, ADVANCE announces a theme related to its focus on collaboration and equity. This year’s theme is “Equitable Faculty Evaluation Practices.”

2023-24 ADVANCE Faculty Fellows

College of Education
Kate Hudson, Education Policy, Research and Administration
Justin Coles, Student Development

College of Engineering
Stacyann Bailey, Biomedical Engineering
Lauren Andrews, Chemical Engineering
Emily Kumpel, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Tingyi Liu, Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

College of Humanities and Fine Arts
James Smethurst, Afro-American Studies
Robert Williams, Architecture
Juana Valdéz, Art
Melissa Mueller, Classics
Jenny Adams, English
Anne Broadbridge, History
Malissa Taylor, Judaic and Near Eastern Studies
Elizabeth Chang (fall), Erinn Knyt (spring), Music and Dance
Ernesto Garcia, Philosophy
Cameron Awkward-Rich, Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies

College of Information and Computer Sciences
Alexandra Meliou, College of Information and Computer Sciences

College of Natural Sciences
Katherine Whitaker, Astronomy
Amy Springer, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Michelle Farkas, Chemistry
Meghan Graham MacLean, Environmental Conservation
Jiakai Lu, Food Science
Haiying Gao, Earth, Geographic, and Climate Sciences
Maryclare Griffin, Mathematics and Statistics
Heather Reed, Microbiology
Manasa Kandula, Physics
Jennifer McDermott, Psychological and Brain Sciences
Rachel Hestrin, Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Kathleen Arcaro, Veterinary and Animal Sciences

College of Nursing
Terrie Black, Nursing

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Achsah Dorsey, Anthropology
Martha Fuentes-Bautista, Communication
Ah-Ram Lee, Journalism
Samantha Solano, Landscape Architecture and Regional Planning
Sindiso MnisiWeeks, Political Science
Bridgette Davis, School of Public Policy
Youngmin Yi, Sociology

Isenberg School of Management
Catherine West Lowry, Accounting
Jennifer Kish-Gephart, Management
Verónica Martín-Ruiz, Marketing
Nicole Melton, Sport Management

Jaime Taylor, Discovery and Resource Management Systems
Christine Turner, Data, Digital Strategies, and Scholarly Communication

School of Public Health and Health Sciences
Zhengqing Ouyang, Biostatistics
Megan Gross, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences
Carrie Nobles, Environmental Health Sciences
Laura Attanasio, Health Policy and Management
Eliza Frechette, Kinesiology
Soonkyu Chung, Nutrition