The College of Engineering is pleased to announce the appointment of Professor Scott Civjan, civil and environmental engineering, to the role of Associate Dean for Undergraduate Affairs for the College of Engineering, effective February 6, 2023. 

Civjan's appointment follows the retirement of James Rinderle, whose served as AD for Undergraduate Affairs for the past 6+ years.  

Scott Civjan is a leader in the area of structural engineering and mechanics. He is currently the SEM Group Lab Director, overseeing operations in the Brack and Boyle laboratories. He has a student-centric focus to his teaching, research, and service—he previously served as the chief undergraduate advisor in CEE, and he is a long-time advisor of student groups such as the AGC and EERI Student Chapters, the EERI Seismic Design competition team, and, until recently, the ASCE Student Chapter Steel Bridge competition team. He received the CEE James L. Tighe Distinguished Teaching Award in 2015, and the College of Engineering Outstanding Teaching Award in 2016, among many other awards. 

Civjan received a BSCE from Washington University, St. Louis and his MSCE and PhD (structural engineering) from the University of Texas at Austin. 

Professor Civjan is a real champion for diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) and student well-being. He has been serving as the chair of the CEE department’s DEI Committee, and I believe he will have a tremendous impact on advancing our high-quality engineering programs, and building a truly accessible, inclusive engineering community. 

The AD position is a half-time, three-year appointment with oversight of the Office of Student Affairs, the Career Development Center (in collaboration with the Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Affairs), the Junior Writing Program, engineering program accreditation, undergraduate student recruiting and enrollment management, and student success. The AD for Undergraduate Affairs also serves as the Academic Dean for the College of Engineering and chairs the College Curriculum Committee. 

Announcement posted in Faculty