University News

UMass ADVANCE Welcomes Addition of Five New Leadership Team Members

UMass ADVANCE has announced the addition of five new leadership team members as the program nears the successful completion of its five-year, NSF-funded ADVANCE Institutional Transformation grant and transitions to a permanent, sustainable UMass ADVANCE going forward.

A photo collage of Caitlyn Butler, Paige Warren, XimenaZuniga, Caryn Baruse and Kelsey Whipple, along with the UMass ADVANCE graphic logo
Top row (l-r): Caitlyn Butler, Paige Warren and Ximena Zuniga. Bottom row (l-r): Caryn Baruse, Kelsey Whipple and the UMass ADVANCE graphic logo

ADVANCE Team Leaders for Practice are Caitlyn Butler, associate professor and graduate program director of civil and environmental engineering; Paige Warren, professor and head of environmental conservation; and Ximena Zúñiga, professor of student development.

ADVANCE Team Leaders for Research are Caryn Brause, associate professor of architecture, and Kelsey Whipple, assistant professor of journalism.

The new leadership team will continue to provide the knowledge driven research and solutions for faculty equity for which the UMass Amherst campus has become known. To lead ADVANCE into the future, they will join Laurel Smith-Doerr, professor of sociology, who is continuing as the director of UMass ADVANCE, and co-PIs Jennifer Normanly, professor and head of biochemistry and molecular biology, and James Allan, professor and past chair of the Manning College of Information and Computer Sciences.

For 2023-24, ADVANCE’s spotlight on collaboration and equity will feature the theme of equitable faculty evaluation.

More information about ADVANCE can be found at