Academic Calendar

Fall 2016 Winter 2016/2017
Spring 2017 CPE Summer 2017
University Summer  2017 Fall 2017
Winter 2017/2018 Spring 2018
CPE Summer 2018 University Summer 2018


This calendar site is updated for the new academic year in late August after the end of the CPE Summer session and before the start of the Fall term.  You can find past or future calendars on the official Faculty Senate calendar page.

You may find information about the five college academic calendar (including UMass Amherst) on the Five College Web site.
 

Fall 2016

First Day of classes Tuesday September 6
Last day to add or drop any class with no record - Undergraduate, Graduate, Stockbridge, Continuing Education Monday September 19
Holiday - Columbus Day Monday October 10
Monday class schedule will be followed Tuesday October 11
Last day to Drop with "DR" - Graduate Monday October 17
Mid-Semester Date (Last day to Drop with 'W' and select 'P/F'- Undergraduate, Stockbridge, Continuing Education) Thursday October 20
Registration begins for Spring 2017 Monday November 7
Holiday - Veterans Day Friday November 11
Friday class schedule will be followed Wednesday November 16
Thanksgiving recess begins Sunday November 20
Classes resume Monday November 28
Last day of classes Wednesday December 14
Reading Period begins Thursday December 15
Final examinations begin Friday December 16
Second Reading Day Saturday December 17
Last day of final examinations Thursday December 22
Snow day for Dec. 22 exams, semester ends Friday December 23
Final grades due by noon Tuesday January 3
Number of class meetings: MTuWThF: 13


Winter Term 2016/2017

First day of classes Tuesday December 27
Last day to add/drop Thursday December 29
Holiday Break starts Sunday January 1
Classes resume Tuesday January 3
Last day to drop with "W" Monday January 9
Last day of classes Saturday January 21
Final grades due Wednesday January 25

 

Spring 2017

First day of classes Monday January 23
Last day to add or drop any class with no record - Undergraduate, Graduate, Stockbridge, Continuing Education Monday February 6
Holiday - Presidents' Day Monday February 20
Last day to Drop with "DR" - Graduate Monday March 6
Mid-Semester Date (Last day to Drop with "W" and select 'P/F'- Undergraduate, Stockbridge, Continuing Education) Wednesday March 8
Spring recess begins Sunday March 12
Classes resume Monday March 20
Registration begins for Fall 2017 Monday April 3
Holiday - Patriot's Day Monday April 17
Monday class schedule will be followed Tuesday April 18
Last day of classes Tuesday May 2
Reading Day Wednesday May 3
Final examinations begin Thursday May 4
Second Reading Day Saturday May 6
Last day of final examinations, semester ends Thursday May 11
Graduate and Undergraduate Commencements Friday May 12
Stockbridge Commencement Saturday May 13
Final grades due by Midnight Tuesday May 16
Number of class meetings: MTuWThF: 13


CPE Summer Session 2017

First day of classes - Session One Monday May 22
Last day to add/drop any Session One class Friday May 26
Holiday - Memorial Day Monday May 29
Last day to drop with "W" any Session One class Friday June 9
Last day of classes - Session One Friday June 30
Holiday - Independence Day Tuesday July 4
First day of classes - Session Two Monday July 10
Session One final grades due Wednesday July 12
Last day to add/drop any Session Two class Friday July 14
Last day to drop with "W" any Session Two class Friday July 28
Last day of classes, Summer Session ends Friday August 18
Remaining Summer Grades due Tuesday August 29

 

University Summer 2017

 

First day of classes Monday May 22
Last day to add/drop Friday May 26
Holiday - Memorial Day Monday May 29
Holiday - Independence Day Tuesday July 4
Last day to drop with "W" or "DR" Wednesday July 5
Last day of classes Friday August 18
Final Grades Due Tuesday August 29

 

 Fall 2017

 

First day of classes Tuesday September 5
Last day to add or drop any class with no record - Undergraduate, Graduate, Stockbridge, CPE Monday  September 18
Holiday - Columbus Day Monday  October 9
Monday class schedule will be followed Tuesday  October 10
Last day to Drop with "DR" – Graduate (including CPE) Monday  October 16
Mid-Semester Date (Last day to Drop with ‘W’ and select 'P/F' - Undergraduate, Stockbridge, CPE Ugrad) Thursday October 19
Registration begins for Spring 2018 Monday  November 6
Holiday – Veterans’ Day Saturday  November 11
Thanksgiving recess begins  Sunday November 19
Classes resume Monday November  27
Last day of classes Tuesday  December 12
Reading Day Wednesday December 13
Final examinations begin Thursday December 14
Second Reading Day Saturday December 16
Last day of final examinations Wednesday  December 20
Snow day for exams, semester ends Thursday December 21
Final grades due by Noon Tuesday  January 2
Number of class meetings: MTuWThF: 13

 

 Winter 2017/2018

First day of classes Tuesday December 26
Last day to add/drop Thursday December 28
Holiday Break starts Sunday December 31
Classes resume Tuesday January 2
Last day to drop with "W" (Ugrad) or “DR” (Grad) Monday January 8
Last day of classes Saturday January 20
Final grades due Wednesday January 24

 

 Spring 2018

First day of classes Monday January 22
Last day to add or drop any class with no record - Undergraduate, Graduate, Stockbridge, CPE) Monday February 5
Holiday - Presidents’ Day Monday February 19
Last day to Drop with "DR" – Graduate (including CPE) Monday March 5
Mid-Semester Date (Last day to Drop with ‘W’ and select 'P/F' - Undergraduate, Stockbridge, CPE Ugrad) Wednesday March 7
Spring recess begins Sunday March 11
Classes resume Monday March 19
Registration begins for Fall 2018 Monday April 2
Holiday - Patriot's Day Monday April 16
Monday class schedule will be followed Tuesday April 17
Last day of classes Tuesday May 1
Reading Day Wednesday May 2
Final examinations begin Thursday May 3
Second Reading Day Saturday May 5
Last day of final examinations, semester ends Thursday May 10
Graduate and Undergraduate Commencements Friday May 11
Stockbridge Commencement Saturday May 12
Final grades due by Midnight Tuesday May 15
Number of class meetings: MTuWThF: 13

 

 CPE Summer 2018

First day of classes - Session One Monday May 21
Last day to add/drop any Session One class Friday May 25
Holiday - Memorial Day Monday May 28
Last day to drop with "W" or “DR” and select 'P/F' any Session One class Friday June 8
Last day of classes - Session One Friday June 29
Holiday - Independence Day Wednesday July 4
First day of classes - Session Two Monday July 9
Session One final grades due Wednesday July 11
Last day to add/drop any Session Two class Friday July 13
Last day to drop with "W" or “DR” and select 'P/F' any Session Two class Friday July 27
Last day of classes - Session Two; Summer Term ends Friday August 17
Remaining Summer grades due Wednesday August 22

 

 University Summer 2018

First day of classes Monday May 21
Last day to add/drop Friday May 25
Holiday – Memorial Day Monday May 28
Last day to drop with “W” or “DR” Tuesday July 3
Holiday – Independence Day Wednesday July 4
Last day of classes Friday August 17
Final grades due Wednesday August 22