Search Advisory Committee Named for Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and Campus Life


Chancellor Kumble R. Subbaswamy has appointed a search advisory committee to recommend candidates for the vice chancellor for student affairs and campus life position. The committee will be chaired by John J. McCarthy, provost and senior vice chancellor for academic affairs. 

A list of recommended candidates is expected to be forwarded to the chancellor by May 31. Enku Gelaye, the current vice chancellor who has been in the job since 2014, recently announced that she will be leaving to take a leadership position at Emory University. 

Members of the search advisory committee include: Carol A. Barr, senior vice provost for academic affairs and dean of undergraduate education; Derek J. Dunlea and Patricia (Tita) Feraud King, Graduate Student Senate representatives; Gretchen H. Gerzina, dean of Commonwealth Honors College; John F. Kennedy, vice chancellor for university relations; Jeffrey D. Hescock, executive director of Environmental Health & Safety and Emergency Management; Rachel B. Ellis and Ryan L. Mahan, Student Government Association representatives; David J. McLaughlin, professor, electrical and computer engineering; Tyrone Parham, chief of police and assistant vice chancellor for student affairs and campus life; Shelly A. Perdomo, assistant vice chancellor for advocacy, inclusion, and support for student affairs and campus life; Jeffrey B. Smith, senior associate athletic director for internal operations and Title IX coordinator; Kalpen Trivedi, associate provost for international programs; David C. Vaillancourt, associate vice chancellor for student affairs and campus life, and Gisella G. Zuniga, associate director of the Center for Women & Community.