Lilly Fellows for Teaching Excellence 2020-21

Umass Amherst Center for Teaching and Learning logo

The Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL) has announced the selection of the 2020-21 Lilly Fellows for Teaching Excellence.

The eight fellows are:

  • Peter Beltramo, chemical engineering
  • Rosemary Cowell, psychological and brain sciences
  • Theodore Eisenman, landscape architecture and regional planning
  • Toussaint Losier, Afro-American studies
  • Kimberlee Pérez, communication
  • Lynda Pickbourn, economics
  • Pari Riahi, architecture
  • Malissa Taylor, Judaic and Near Eastern studies

Established in 1986, the Lilly Fellowship for Teaching Excellence has fostered leadership in teaching by training over 240 faculty members, many of whom have gone on to win Distinguished Teaching Awards and College Outstanding Teaching Awards, chair departments, and serve in other leadership positions across campus. During their fellowship year, participants attend bi-weekly seminars on teaching pedagogy, develop a new course or substantially redesign an existing one, complete a teaching portfolio that includes teaching reflections and activities adapted to the course, and work with mentors to anticipate many of the challenges and rewards of faculty life at UMass Amherst. After the fellowship year, faculty demonstrate leadership on the topic of teaching by participating in teaching-related workshops, collaborating on teaching evaluation projects, or participating in other teaching-related roles and functions on campus.

For more information about the Lilly Fellowship, please contact Brian Baldi at the CTL.