Hajir Named Senior Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education at UMass Amherst

The Office of the Provost recently announced Farshid Hajir as UMass Amherst’s next senior vice provost and dean of undergraduate education, filling a position that has been vacant since Carol Barr stepped down at the end of May. Hajir assumed office on June 23.  

NEWS Farshid Hajir
Farshid Hajir

Farshid Hajir previously served as senior vice provost for academic affairs. In his new role, he will focus on the student experience, student success and inclusive excellence. He will work closely with colleagues in Student Affairs and with the assistant/associate deans for undergraduate education in each of the colleges. Units that report to the Senior Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Studies include Student Success, Career and Professional Development, the Learning Resource Center, the University Registrar, Civic Engagement and Service Learning and the Army and Air Force ROTC units.  

Prior to his 2017 appointment as Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, Hajir was head of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics and has served as acting chair in psychological and brain sciences during the 2021-22 academic year. From 2006 to 2011, he served as undergraduate program director and Chair of the Undergraduate Affairs Committee in his department. He is a 2006 recipient of the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics Outstanding Teaching award and a 2011 recipient of the campus-wide University Distinguished Teaching Award. He has mentored 29 undergraduate students engaged in research experiences.  

The search committee for this position was comprised of Senior Vice Provost Michelle Budig (chair), Vice Chancellor Brandi Hephner LaBanc, College of Natural Sciences Associate Dean Elizabeth Connor, College of Humanities and Fine Arts Associate Dean Nancy Noble, Director of Student Success Outreach Adam Ortiz, Manning College of Information and Computer Sciences Director of Diversity Erika Dawson Head, student representatives Julia Carino and Chris Brady, and was staffed by Kelly Smiaroski.