Cheung, Hankinson, Page Named 2018-19 Conti Fellows

Alice Y. Cheung
Alice Y. Cheung

Alice Y. Cheung, biochemistry and molecular biology; Susan E. Hankinson, biostatistics and epidemiology; and Max Page, architecture, are the recipients of the 2018-19 Samuel F. Conti Faculty Fellowship Awards.

Conti Fellowships provide faculty members with a unique opportunity to focus on their research or creative activities. These fellowships, managed by the office of the vice chancellor for research and engagement, provide a one-year release from teaching and service duties in addition to a $3,500 cash award.

Fellows are chosen based on their record of outstanding accomplishments in research and creative activity and on their potential for continued excellence, particularly with regard to the project that would be undertaken during the fellowship period and as proposed in their nomination materials.

Conti Fellowship recipients are expected to continue as members of the faculty for a least one year post-Fellowship.

The fellowships are named in honor of Samuel F. Conti, the first vice chancellor for research, who played a key role in establishing the campus as a major research institution of international reputation.