The Center for Teaching and Learning Announces 2021-22 Lilly Fellows for Teaching Excellence

Lilly Fellows

The Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL) is pleased to announce the selection of the 2021-22 Lilly Fellows for Teaching Excellence.

The eight fellows are:

  • Farshid Abdi, finance
  • Cameron Awkward-Rich, women, gender, sexuality studies
  • Sohee Koo, art
  • Sunghoon Lee, computer science
  • Shannon Roberts, mechanical and industrial engineering
  • Kelsey Whipple, journalism
  • Katherine Whitaker, astronomy
  • Caralyn Zehnder, biology

Established in 1986, the Lilly Fellowship program has fostered leadership in teaching by training over 248 faculty members, many of whom have gone on to win Distinguished Teaching Awards and College Outstanding Teaching Awards, chair departments and serve in other leadership positions across campus. During their fellowship year, participants attend regular seminars on pedagogy, develop a new course or substantially redesign an existing one, complete a teaching portfolio that includes teaching reflections and activities adapted to the course and work with mentors to anticipate many of the challenges and rewards of faculty life at UMass Amherst. After the fellowship year, faculty demonstrate leadership on the topic of teaching by participating in teaching-related workshops, collaborating on teaching evaluation projects or participating in other teaching-related roles and functions on campus.

For more information about the Lilly Fellowship, email