Provost Tricia Serio has announced that four UMass Amherst faculty members have been selected to receive the lifetime honorific of Provost Professor.

The title will be conferred at the Faculty Awards Dinner on Monday, May 8, to Kenneth Carter, polymer science and engineering, Robert DeConto, earth, geographic and climate sciences, Edie Meidav, English, and Shelly Peyton, chemical engineering.

Now in its second year, the campus-level faculty honorific recognizes exceptional achievement in research or creative activity and in teaching.

“It is my great honor to recognize the exceptional work of our 2023 Provost Professors," Serio says. “They are truly emblematic of the excellence of our faculty.”

The 2023 Provost Professors were selected from a competitive group of nominations by the Provost Professor Selection Committee. The Provost Professor title is designated for tenure-system faculty who hold the rank of professor and do not hold a named or distinguished professorship.

For more information about the Provost Professor title and to view past recipients of the honorific, visit

Press release posted in Research for Faculty , Staff , Prospective students , Current students , Alumni , and Public