Directory of Offices

Floor plan of Furcolo Hall

 

UMass Amherst College of Education 

See People A-Z for a directory of individuals in the college

Administrative Offices & Contacts


Dean's Office

Leading the College of Education with care, transparency, and inclusivity. Come visit us in Furcolo Hall W111. To schedule a meeting with Dean Cynthia Gerstl-Pepin, please contact Susan Martin, Assistant to the Dean, sbmartin@educ.umass.edu or (413) 545-2705

Development 

Scholarships, philanthropy, planned giving, annual funds

Brian Toohey - Director of Development: briantoohey@umass.edu

Financial Services

Budgets, accounts payable and receivable, purchasing, pro-cards 

Wendy Wilde - Director of Financial Services: wwilde@umass.edu
Naitian Wang - Associate Director of Financial Services: naitianwang@educ.umass.edu
Jennifer Masztal - Accountant: jmasztal@educ.umass.edu

Human Resources

Payroll, college personnel hiring, promotion and tenure, additional compensation (add comp), on-campus mail couriering, Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)

Karlee Drumgool - Human Resources Manager: kmd@educ.umass.edu
Amanda Kimball - Human Resources Specialist: akimball@educ.umass.edu 
Sara Mutch - Administrative Assistant: sarajane@educ.umass.edu 

Academic Offices


Academic Affairs

Graduate and Undergraduate program directors, exploratory track advising, course scheduling, registering, evaluations, practica, independent study, descriptions, grade changes, scholarship applications, credit waivers

Jennifer Randall - Associate Dean for Academic Affairs: jrandall@educ.umass.edu 
Shane Hammond - Graduate Program Director: 
shammond@educ.umass.edu
Kristen Tyler - Graduate Program Coordinator: ktyler@educ.umass.edu
Michael Hanna - Clerk: mhanna@umass.edu
Chanti Chanthavong - Academic Advisor for Exploratory Track Students: Chanti@educ.umass.edu 

Department of Education Policy, Research & Assessment

The Department of Education Policy, Research, and Administration (EPRA) promotes scholarship and pedagogy that focuses on leading-edge education policy issues. Our faculty and students engage in research, outreach, learning, and evaluation activities that integrate theoretical perspectives with current issues of policy and practice and they contribute to scholarly discourse, policy deliberations, and leadership development, and broadening of access in education. The programs prepare educators and leaders to critically analyze, interpret, and use information, and to facilitate students becoming agents of their own learning.

Kathryn McDermott - Department Chair: mcdermott@educ.umass.edu
Jennifer Southgate - Department Administrator: jsouthgate@educ.umass.edu 
Nicole Cloutier - Administrative Assistant: 
ncloutier@educ.umass.edu

Department of Student Development

The programs in the Department of Student Development (SD) seek a deeper understanding of individuals and groups in formal educational settings. Our students and faculty study individual pupils and their relationships with peers, educators, and families. They also address relationships within and among various social groups and their interactions with educational systems, families, and communities. Through research and scholarship, our faculty and students develop and contribute to innovative program models that broaden accessibility and equity in public education.

John Hintze - Department Chair: hintze@educ.umass.edu
Judy Pierce - Department Administrator: judithpierce@educ.umass.edu
Emily Walker - Administrative Assistant: pichette@educ.umass.edu

Department of Teacher Education & Curriculum Studies

The faculty, students, and alumni of the programs in the Department of Teacher Education and Curriculum Studies (TECS) work to improve public education in Massachusetts and beyond. The department directs K-12 teacher education programs at the undergraduate and master’s level. We conduct research and advanced study that furthers our understanding of teacher education, curriculum development, teaching, and learning. We take a leadership role in developing policy and promoting effective and equitable teacher education, curriculum, and school practices in the commonwealth.

Florence Sullivan - Department Chair: fsullivan@educ.umass.edu
John Ciampa - Department Administrator: jciampa@umass.edu
Sovann-Malis Loeung - Administrative Assistant: tecs@educ.umass.edu 

Educator Licensing & Preparation

Pre-licensing advising, education minor advising, licensing processes 

Kimberly Drake - Educator Licensure Officer: kdrake@educ.umass.edu
Seug-eun Lee - Administrative Assistant: slee@educ.umass.edu

Program Development

Online Education programs, curriculum design, instructional development

Kate Hudson - Director of Program Development: kate.hudson@umass.edu
Fred Zinn - Associate Director of Program Development and Innovation: fzinn@umass.edu

Partnerships, Educator Preparation, and Innovation

Tk-20 portfolios, field experiences, assessment reporting 

Tk-20 Portfolio System: Voicemail (413) 545-7008, Tk20@educ.umass.edu
Ray Sharick - Associate Dean for Partnerships, Educator Preparation, and Innovation: rsharick@educ.umass.edu
Ann Stephany - Field Experience Specialist: stephany@educ.umass.edu
Robert Heath - Curriculum Coordinator: rheath@umass.edu 
Gabriel Rodriguez - Director of Assessment for Educator Preparation: 
gabriel@educ.umass.edu 
Anthony Eastman - Clerk: aeastmond@umass.edu

Facilities and Technologies 


Facilities Coordinator

Director of Financial Services - Wendy Wilde: (413) 545-2789, wwilde@umass.edu

Equipment & Office Supplies

Computers, printers, copier repairs, furniture & equipment removal
see departmental administrators 

Educational Technology Services 

Classroom technologies, projectors, computer classrooms, video conferencing
(413) 545-6981, edtech@educ.umass.edu

Research Centers and Support


Research & Engagement Office

Research Services, Grants & Contracts Administration, Proposal Development, Compliance

Center for Educational Assessment

The Center for Educational Assessment (CEA) conducts research and provides training in the areas of psychometrics, research methods, and educational statistics to promote fair, useful, and efficient educational assessment practices. The Center provides technical expertise in areas such as test development, item response theory applications, equating, standard setting, test selection and evaluation, and program evaluation.

Center for Educational Policy

The Center for Educational Policy conducts studies and evaluates programs on topics relating to K-12 education reform and K-16 alignment, access, and outcomes. Convenes policy leadership conferences that bring together legislators, executive branch staff, educators, union leaders, researchers, funders, and other education stakeholders to share research findings and test policy solutions.

Center for International Education

The Center for International Education (CIE) engages in implementation and research opportunities in the areas of international development for educational institutions and systems-especially in conflict or crisis contexts, professional development and capacity building, education policy and leadership, nonformal/popular adult education, and internationalizing U.S. education.

The Ronald H. Fredrickson Center for School Counseling Outcome Research & Evaluation (CSCORE)

The Ronald H. Fredrickson Center for School Counseling Outcome Research & Evaluation (CSCORE) is dedicated to improving educational opportunities and outcomes for all children through identifying and developing research-based and effective school counseling practices. 

Center for Student Success Research

The Center for Student Success Research (CSSR) facilitates research, evaluation, and organizational assessment aimed at promoting postsecondary access and success for underrepresented and understudied student populations.

Center for Youth Engagement

The Center for Youth Engagement (CYE) is an interdisciplinary effort dedicated to the advancement of successful school and post-school outcomes for underserved and at-risk youth.