Directory of Offices

Floor plan of Furcolo Hall

 

College of Education Virtual Office Hours

Although we are working remotely, we want to be sure we are still available to our community. Feel free to get in touch during weekly office hours or by appointment. 

UMass Amherst College of Education 

See People A-Z for a directory of individuals in the college

Administrative Offices & Contacts


Dean's Office

Leads the College of Education with care, transparency, and inclusivity

To schedule a meeting with Dean Cynthia Gerstl-Pepin, please contact Susan Martin, Assistant to the Dean, sbmartin@educ.umass.edu or (413) 545-2705

Development 

Scholarships, philanthropy, planned giving, annual funds

Brian Toohey - Director of Development: briantoohey@umass.edu

Diversity and Inclusion

Supports the pursuit of social justice within and beyond the College community 

Benita Barnes - Director of Diversity and Inclusion: barnesbj@educ.umass.edu

Financial Services

Budgets, accounts payable and receivable, purchasing, pro-cards 

Wendy Wilde - Director of Financial Services: wwilde@umass.edu

Mike Schwendenmann - Finance & Research Coordinator: mschwendenma@umass.edu

Nicole Cloutier - Accountantncloutier@educ.umass.edu

Human Resources

Payroll, college personnel hiring, promotion and tenure, additional compensation (add comp), on-campus mail couriering, Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)

Karlee Drumgool - Human Resources Manager: kmd@educ.umass.edu 

Communications and Marketing

Design of marketing materials, digital newsletters, website updates and training, social media management, annual print magazine

To submit news, events, and points of pride, please email educnews@umass.edu

Marisa Catalina Casey - Communications and Marketing Specialist: mccasey@umass.edu

Online Programs and Digital Learning

Online Education programs, curriculum design, instructional development

Kate Hudson - Director of Program Development: katehudson@umass.edu

Fred Zinn - Associate Director of Program Development and Innovation: fzinn@umass.edu

Academic Offices


Academic Affairs

Graduate and Undergraduate program directors, exploratory track advising, course scheduling, registering, evaluations, practica, independent study, descriptions, grade changes, scholarship applications, credit waivers

Jennifer Randall - Associate Dean for Academic Affairs: jrandall@educ.umass.edu 

Shane Hammond - Graduate Program Director: shammond@educ.umass.edu

Kristen Tyler - Graduate Program Coordinator: ktyler@educ.umass.edu

Michael Hanna - Clerk: mhanna@umass.ed

Department of Education Policy, Research & Assessment

The Department of Education Policy, Research, and Administration (EPRA) promotes scholarship and pedagogy that focuses on leading-edge education policy issues. Our faculty and students engage in research, outreach, learning, and evaluation activities that integrate theoretical perspectives with current issues of policy and practice and they contribute to scholarly discourse, policy deliberations, and leadership development, and broadening of access in education. The programs prepare educators and leaders to critically analyze, interpret, and use information, and to facilitate students becoming agents of their own learning.

Kathryn McDermott - Department Chair: mcdermott@educ.umass.edu

Jennifer Southgate - Department Administrator: jsouthgate@educ.umass.edu 

Department of Student Development

The programs in the Department of Student Development (SD) seek a deeper understanding of individuals and groups in formal educational settings. Our students and faculty study individual pupils and their relationships with peers, educators, and families. They also address relationships within and among various social groups and their interactions with educational systems, families, and communities. Through research and scholarship, our faculty and students develop and contribute to innovative program models that broaden accessibility and equity in public education.

Carey Dimmitt - Interim Department Chair: cdimmitt@educ.umass.edu

Hillary Osgood - Department Administrator: hosgood@umass.edu

Emily Walker - Department Assistant: pichette@educ.umass.edu

Department of Teacher Education & Curriculum Studies

The faculty, students, and alumni of the programs in the Department of Teacher Education and Curriculum Studies (TECS) work to improve public education in Massachusetts and beyond. The department directs K-12 teacher education programs at the undergraduate and master’s level. We conduct research and advanced study that furthers our understanding of teacher education, curriculum development, teaching, and learning. We take a leadership role in developing policy and promoting effective and equitable teacher education, curriculum, and school practices in the commonwealth.

Florence Sullivan - Department Chair: fsullivan@educ.umass.edu

Sonya Perez - Department Administrator: sonyaperez@umass.edu

Educator Preparation

The Educator Preparation Office is the hub for all the educator licensing programs across the University of Massachusetts Amherst. Visit us to learn about the vast array of opportunities to become an educator, information regarding the various program coordinators, and academic advising for licensure pathways.

Tk-20 Portfolio System: Voicemail (413) 545-7008, Tk20@educ.umass.edu

Ezekiel Kimball - Associate Dean of Operations and Planning: ekimball@educ.umass.edu

Beverley Bell - Assistant Dean of Educator Preparation: bjbell@umass.edu

Gabriel Rodriguez - Director of Assessment for Educator Preparation: gabriel@educ.umass.edu

Seung-eun Lee - Administrative Assistant: slee@educ.umass.edu

Robert Heath - Clerk: rheath@umass.edu 

Anthony Eastman - Clerk Tk-20: aeastmond@umass.edu

Undergraduate Advising Center

Support and advising for students in Education without a declared major and major-specific advising

Alexandra Lackard - Academic Advisor for Community Education and Social Change & Pre-licensure Students: alackard@umass.edu 

Facilities and Technologies 


Facilities Coordinator

Wendy Wilde - Director of Financial Services: wwilde@umass.edu, (413) 545-2789

Equipment & Office Supplies

Computers, printers, copier repairs, furniture & equipment removal
see departmental administrators 

Educational Technology Services (EdTech)

Classroom technologies, projectors, computer classrooms, video conferencing
(413) 545-6981, edtech-ithelp@umass.edu

Julie Pallant - IT Lead: jpallant@umass.edu

Jim Smith - IT Manager: jsmith@educ.umass.edu

Research Centers and Support


Office of Research & Engagement

Research Services, Grants & Contracts Administration, Proposal Development, Compliance

Center for Educational Assessment

The Center for Educational Assessment (CEA) conducts research and provides training in the areas of psychometrics, research methods, and educational statistics to promote fair, useful, and efficient educational assessment practices. The Center provides technical expertise in areas such as test development, item response theory applications, equating, standard setting, test selection and evaluation, and program evaluation.

Center for Educational Policy

The Center for Educational Policy conducts studies and evaluates programs on topics relating to K-12 education reform and K-16 alignment, access, and outcomes. Convenes policy leadership conferences that bring together legislators, executive branch staff, educators, union leaders, researchers, funders, and other education stakeholders to share research findings and test policy solutions.

Center for International Education

The Center for International Education (CIE) engages in implementation and research opportunities in the areas of international development for educational institutions and systems-especially in conflict or crisis contexts, professional development and capacity building, education policy and leadership, nonformal/popular adult education, and internationalizing U.S. education.

The Ronald H. Fredrickson Center for School Counseling Outcome Research & Evaluation (CSCORE)

The Ronald H. Fredrickson Center for School Counseling Outcome Research & Evaluation (CSCORE) is dedicated to improving educational opportunities and outcomes for all children through identifying and developing research-based and effective school counseling practices. 

Center for Student Success Research

The Center for Student Success Research (CSSR) facilitates research, evaluation, and organizational assessment aimed at promoting postsecondary access and success for underrepresented and understudied student populations.

Center for Youth Engagement

The Center for Youth Engagement (CYE) is an interdisciplinary effort dedicated to the advancement of successful school and post-school outcomes for underserved and at-risk youth.