You are here

Center for Applied Mathematics & Computation

The Center for Applied Mathematics and Computation involves faculty members and graduate students in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at the University of Massachusetts who are interested in research and instruction in applied mathematics and scientific computation. The Center supports a research seminar series, the Applied Analysis and Computation Seminar. The M.S. Program in Applied Mathematics, a two-year professional degree program for students who seek industrial employment, is also coordinated by the Center.

The research interests of the Applied Mathematics faculty span diverse fields of modern applied mathematics, scientific computing and applied analysis and probability. Members of the faculty are also directly involved in applications, among others in biology, ecology, fluid dynamics, geosciences, materials science, optics and soft-condensed matter physics.

Some of the principal research directions of applied mathematics pursued at UMass are: predictive modeling and data science,  numerical analysis and scientific computing, including methods for deterministic and stochastic PDE, as well as molecular dynamics and Monte Carlo methods; stochastic modelling, probability theory, stochastic processes and equilibrium and nonequilibrium statistical mechanics; Nonlinear PDE, harmonic analysis, dynamical systems, ergodic theory and mathematical physics,  mathematical biology and ecology.

CAM Coordinator: Markos Katsoulakisinfo-icon
Director of M.S. program in Applied Mathematics: Qian-Yong Cheninfo-icon

Research Areas

Data Science, Machine Learning  and Predictive Modeling: Qian-Yong Cheninfo-icon, Patrick Flahertyinfo-icon, Maryclare Griffininfo-icon, Markos Katsoulakisinfo-icon, Yao Liinfo-icon, Yulong Luinfo-icon, Luc Rey-Belletinfo-icon, Leili Shahriyariinfo-icon, Wei Zhuinfo-icon

Dynamical Systems and Ergodic Theory:  Yao Liinfo-icon, Luc Rey-Belletinfo-icon, Hongkun Zhanginfo-icon

Fluid Dynamics: Nathaniel Whitakerinfo-icon, Robin Younginfo-icon

Mathematical Biology: Andreas Buttenschoeninfo-icon, Patrick Flahertyinfo-iconPanos Kevrekidisinfo-icon, Yao Liinfo-icon, Yulong Luinfo-icon, Leili Shahriyariinfo-icon, Nathaniel Whitakerinfo-icon

Mathematical Physics: Panos Kevrekidisinfo-icon, Yao Liinfo-icon, Yulong Luinfo-icon, Luc Rey-Belletinfo-icon, HongKun Zhanginfo-icon, Wei Zhuinfo-icon, Eric Polizziinfo-icon (ECE adjunct)

Nonlinear PDEs: Andreas Buttenschoeninfo-icon, Panos Kevrekidisinfo-icon, Andrea Nahmodinfo-icon, Sohrab Shahshahaniinfo-icon, Robin Younginfo-icon

Scientific Computing: Andreas Buttenschoeninfo-icon, Qian-Yong Cheninfo-icon, Matthew Dobsoninfo-icon, Markos Katsoulakisinfo-icon, Panos Kevrekidisinfo-icon, Yao Liinfo-icon, Yulong Luinfo-icon, Bruce Turkingtoninfo-icon, Brian Van Koteninfo-icon, Nathaniel Whitakerinfo-icon, Wei Zhuinfo-icon, Eric Polizziinfo-icon (ECE-adjunct)

Stochastic Modeling, Probability and Statistical Mechanics: Matthew Dobsoninfo-icon, Markos Katsoulakisinfo-icon, Yao Liinfo-icon, Yulong Luinfo-icon, Luc Rey-Belletinfo-icon, Leili Shahriyariinfo-icon, Bruce Turkingtoninfo-icon, Brian Van Koteninfo-icon, HongKun Zhanginfo-icon

PhD Students:

Abdel Kader Geraldoinfo-icon, Hyemin Guinfo-icon, Tangxin Jininfo-icon, Dean Katsarosinfo-icon, John Kaushageninfo-iconConnor M. Kennedyinfo-icon, George A Kevrekidisinfo-icon, Onur Korkmazinfo-icon, Trang Minh Leinfo-icon, Kien Nguyeninfo-icon, Ryan Rossinfo-icon, Dilruba Sofiainfo-icon, Georgios Tsoliasinfo-icon, Yaping Yuaninfo-icon, Byeongho Ban

Applied Math MS Students:

Julien Brenneckinfo-icon, Nuha Futainfo-icon, Annabel Holmesinfo-icon, Abdolvahab Khademi Shamamiinfo-icon, Linqi Menginfo-icon, Suzet Nkwayainfo-icon, Matheau Santana-Gijzeninfo-icon, Xianting Shaoinfo-icon, Renato Spacekinfo-icon, Jennifer Sullivaninfo-icon, Wilson Wanginfo-icon, Emma Weberinfo-icon, Si Wuinfo-icon, Feng Xionginfo-icon

Visiting Assistant Professors:

Siddhant Agrawalinfo-icon, Panagiota Birmpainfo-icon (funded from AFOSR), Navid Mohammad Mirzaeiinfo-icon, Mithun Thudiyangalinfo-icon, Jiayu Zhaiinfo-icon


Ziyu Cheninfo-icon (AFOSR, NSF), Benjamin Zhanginfo-icon (AFOSR), Daniel Eceizabarrenainfo-icon (Simons), Arkadz Kirshteininfo-icon (NIH), Sumeyye Suinfo-icon (NIH)