Faculty News

Green, Valdiviezo and Nygreen awarded a PSEG

A proposal, “Youth-Centered Professional Development for Ethnic Studies Teachers: A Partnership of Holyoke Public Schools and UMass College of Education,” submitted as a collaboration between Keisha Green, Laura Valdiviezo and Kysa Nygreen, teacher education and curriculum studies, and Holyoke Public Schools, was selected by the university to receive a Public Service Endowment Grant (PSEG) 2018 award of $15,000.

Emerita Sonia Nieto awarded honorary doctorate at Mount Holyoke Commencement

UMass Amherst College of Education professor emerita Sonia Nieto was awarded an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters by Mount Holyoke College at its 2018 Commencement on Sunday, May 20. Nieto noted that she was the second Puerto Rican woman to receive an honorary degree from Mount Holyoke, the first being Felisa Rincón de Gautier, the first female mayor of San Juan, Puerto Rico.

George Mwangi receives innovative research award

Chrystal George Mwangi, assistant professor, higher education, received the Innovative Research in International Education Award from NAFSA, an organization promoting international education and providing professional development opportunities in the field.

Green wins mentor award

Keisha Green, assistant professor, secondary English education, was selected as a recipient of the 2018 Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award by the UMass Amherst Graduate School.

Green will be acknowledged by Chancellor Kumble R. Subbaswamy at Graduate Commencement on Friday, May 11, 2018. This highly competitive award is given to a faculty member whose work in support of graduate students and graduate education at UMass Amherst has had a transformative effect on his or her graduate students.

More Faculty News

Brandon’s Films to be Featured in New York, London

Groundbreaking films directed in the early 1970s by Liane Brandon, professor emerita of education, will be featured in upcoming series in New York and London. Her 1972 work, “Betty Tells Her Story,” will be shown May 5 as part of “A Different Picture: Women Filmmakers in the New Hollywood Era, 1967-1980” at the Brooklyn Academy of Music.

Fefer named family research scholar

Sarah Fefer, assistant professor, student development, has been named one of six 2018-19 Family Research Scholars (FRS) by the UMass Amherst Center for Research on Families.  These scholars were selected to participate in the fifteenth cohort of the FRS program based on their promising work in family-related research.

Botelho recognized for distinguished service

Maria Jose Botelho, associate professor, teacher education and curriculum studies, was recognized by the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi for "Distinguished Service to the University of Massachusetts Amherst” specifically for her work in the local community both for her writing and literacy workshops, as well as for organizing the 5 College Arts program.

Chrystal George Mwangi named ISSR Scholar

Chrystal George Mwangi, assistant professor, educational policy, research and administration, has been named one of six 2018-19 Institute for Social Science Research (ISSR) Scholars. ISSR's mission is to promote excellence in social science research, and the Scholars Program is one of its key strategies for strengthening social science infrastructure at UMass.

Mosselson invited to serve on INEE policy working group

Jacqueline Mosselson, associate professor, educational policy, research and administration, has been invited as a representative of the College of Education to serve as a member of the Inter-Agency Network for Education in Emergencies’ (INEE) 2018-2020 Education Policy Working Group (EPWG.) Mosselson is currently a Visiting Research Fellow, Refugee Studies Centre​, Department of International Development, University of Oxford.

Hamilton awarded Chancellor’s Leadership Fellowship

Claire Hamilton, associate professor, teacher education and curriculum studies, was awarded a Chancellor’s Leadership Fellowship for the 2018 calendar year, according to John McCarthy, interim provost and senior vice chancellor for academic affairs.


Subscribe to Faculty News