Academic Calendar

Fall 2018 Winter 2018/2019
Spring 2019 CPE Summer 2019
University Summer 2019 Fall 2019
Winter 2019/2020 Spring 2020
CPE Summer 2020 University Summer 2020


This calendar site is updated for the new academic year in late August after the end of the CPE Summer session and before the start of the Fall term.  You can find past or future calendars on the official Faculty Senate calendar page.

You may find information about the five college academic calendar (including UMass Amherst) on the Five College Web site.
 

 

 Fall 2018

First day of classes Tuesday September 4
Last day to add or drop any class with no record - Undergraduate, Graduate, Stockbridge, CPE Monday September 17
Holiday - Columbus Day Monday October 8
Monday class schedule will be followed Tuesday October 9
Last day to Drop with "DR" – Graduate (including CPE) Tuesday October 30
Last day to Drop with ‘W’ and select 'P/F' - Undergrad, Stockbridge, CPE Ugrad Tuesday October 30
Registration begins for Spring 2019 Monday November 5
Holiday – Veterans’ Day Monday November 12
Monday class schedule will be followed Wednesday November 14
Thanksgiving recess begins Sunday November 18
Classes resume Monday November 26
Last day of classes Wednesday December 12
Reading Day Thursday December 13
Final examinations begin Friday December 14
Reading Day Saturday December 15
Last day of final examinations Thursday December 20
Snow day for exams, semester ends Friday December 21
Final grades due by Noon Wednesday January 2

Number of class meetings: MTuWThF: 13

 

  Winter 2018/2019

First day of classes Wednesday December 26
Last day to add/drop Friday December 28
Holiday Break starts Monday December 31
Classes resume Wednesday January 2
Last day to drop with "W" (Ugrad) or “DR” (Grad) Wednesday January 9
Last day of classes Saturday January 19
Final grades due Wednesday January 23

 

 Spring 2019

First day of classes Tuesday January 22
Last day to add or drop any class with no record - Undergraduate, Graduate, Stockbridge, CPE) Monday February 4
Holiday - Presidents’ Day Monday February 18
Monday class schedule will be followed Tuesday February 19
Spring recess begins Sunday March 10
Classes resume Monday March 18
Last day to Drop with "DR" – Graduate (including CPE)  Tuesday March 19
Last day to Drop with ‘W’ and select 'P/F' - Undergrad, Stockbridge, CPE Ugrad Tuesday March 19
Registration begins for Fall 2019 Monday April 1
Holiday - Patriot's Day Monday April 15
Monday class schedule will be followed Wednesday April 17
Last day of classes Wednesday May 1
Reading Day Thursday May 2
Final examinations begin Friday May 3
Reading Day Saturday May 4
Last day of final examinations, semester ends Thursday May 9
Graduate and Undergraduate Commencements Friday May 10
Stockbridge Commencement Saturday May 11
Final grades due by Midnight Tuesday May 14

Number of class meetings: MTuWThF: 13

 

 CPE Summer 2019

First day of classes - Session One Monday May 20
Last day to add/drop any Session One class Friday May 24
Holiday - Memorial Day Monday May 27
Last day to drop with "W" or "DR" any Session One class Wednesday June 12
Last day of classes - Session One Friday June 28
Holiday - Independence Day Thursday July 4
First day of classes - Session Two Monday July 8
Session One final grades due Wednesday July 10
Last day to add/drop any Session Two class Friday July 12
Last day to drop with "W" or "DR" any Session Two class Wednesday July 31
Last day of classes - Session Two; Summer Term ends Friday August 16
Remaining Summer grades due Wednesday August 21

 

 University Summer 2019

First day of classes Monday May 20
Last day to add/drop Friday May 24
Holiday – Memorial Day Monday May 27
Holiday – Independence Day Thursday July 4
Last day to drop with “W” or “DR”  Friday July 12
Last day of classes Friday August 16
Final grades due Wednesday August 21

 

 Fall 2019

First day of classes Tuesday September 3
Last day to add or drop any class with no record - Undergraduate, Graduate, Stockbridge, CPE Monday  September 16
Holiday - Columbus Day Monday  October 14
Monday class schedule will be followed Tuesday  October 15
Last day to Drop with "DR" – Graduate (including CPE) Tuesday October 29
Last day to Drop with ‘W’ and select 'P/F' - Undergraduate, Stockbridge, CPE Ugrad Tuesday October 29
Registration begins for Spring 2020 Monday  November 4
Holiday – Veterans’ Day Monday  November 11
Monday class schedule will be followed Wednesday November 13
Thanksgiving recess begins  Sunday November 24
Classes resume Monday December 2
Last day of classes Wednesday December 11
Reading Day Thursday December 12
Final examinations begin Friday December 13
Reading Day Saturday December 14
Last day of final examinations Thursday  December 19
Snow day for exams, semester ends Friday December 20
Final grades due by Noon Thursday January 2

Number of class meetings: MTuWThF: 13

 

 Winter 2019/2020

First day of classes Thurdsay December 26
Last day to add/drop Saturday December 28
Holiday Break Wednesday January 1
Classes resume Thursday January 2
Last day to drop with "W" (Ugrad) or “DR” (Grad) and select "P/F" Thursday January 9
Last day of classes Saturday January 18
Final grades due Wednesday January 22

 

 Spring 2020

First day of classes Tuesday January 21
Last day to add or drop any class with no record - Undergraduate, Graduate, Stockbridge, CPE Monday February 3
Holiday - Presidents’ Day Monday February 17
Monday class schedule will be followed Tuesday February 18
Spring recess begins Sunday March 15
Classes resume Monday March 23
Last day to Drop with "DR" – Graduate (including CPE) Tuesday March 24
Last day to Drop with ‘W’ and select 'P/F' - Undergraduate, Stockbridge, CPE Ugrad Tuesday March 24
Registration begins for Fall 2020 Monday March 30
Holiday - Patriot's Day Monday April 20
Monday class schedule will be followed Wednesday April 22
Last day of classes Wednesday April 29
Reading Day Thurdsay April 30
Final examinations begin Friday May 1
Reading Day Saturday May 2
Last day of final examinations, semester ends Thursday May 7
Graduate and Undergraduate Commencements Friday May 8
Stockbridge Commencement Saturday May 9
Final grades due by Midnight Tuesday May 12

Number of class meetings: MTuWThF: 13

 

 CPE Summer 2020

First day of classes - Session One Monday May 18
Last day to add/drop any Session One class Friday May 22
Holiday - Memorial Day Monday May 25
Last day to drop with "W" or “DR” and select 'P/F' any Session One class Wednesday June 10
Last day of classes - Session One Friday June 26
Holiday - Independence Day Saturday July 4
First day of classes - Session Two Monday July 6
Session One final grades due Wednesday July 8
Last day to add/drop any Session Two class Friday July 10
Last day to drop with "W" or “DR” and select 'P/F' any Session Two class Wednesday July 29
Last day of classes - Session Two; Summer Term ends Friday August 14
Remaining Summer grades due Wednesday August 19

 

 University Summer 2020

First day of classes Monday May 18
Last day to add/drop Friday May 22
Holiday – Memorial Day Monday May 25
Holiday - Independence Day Saturday July 4
Last day to drop with "W" or "DR" Friday July 10
Last day of classes Friday August 14
Final grades due Wednesday August 19