Departmental Advising

Regular academic advising is an extremely important component of your undergraduate education. To help you succeed as a student and prepare for your future, we strongly encourage you to meet with an academic advisor at least once every semester. Advisors assist students in making informed choices about your course selection and discuss your progress toward completing requirements. Advisors can also answer questions you may have about your major, and can refer you to other University or College offices if you need additional assistance. There are faculty and staff advisers in your department and in the Social and Behavioral Sciences Advising Center.

If you have questions related to requirements for your major, or would like to talk with a faculty member in your department about internships, study abroad opportunities, tutoring or other issues, please contact the Undergraduate Office in your department:

Department Director Phone Office


Lynnette Leidy Sievert, Undergraduate Program Director


Machmer Hall

  Milena Marchesi, Chief Undergraduate Advisor 413.545.2221 Machmer Hall


Emily West, Undergraduate Program Director


N324 Integrative Learning Center

  Lynn Phillips, Chief Undergraduate Advisor 413.545.3539 N326 Integrative Learning Center


J. Kevin Crocker, Undergraduate Program Director &
Chief Undergraduate Advisor


1034 Thompson Hall

  Elizabeth Kazinskas, Academic Advisor 413.545.0855 1038 Thompson Hall

Environmental Design

Patricia McGirr, Undergraduate Program Director &
Chief Undergraduate Advisor


102 Hills House North


Kathy Roberts Forde, Undergraduate Program Director (chair)


S417 Integrative Learning Center

  Razvan Sibii, Chief Undergraduate Advisor 413.545.5926 S421 Integrative Learning Center

Landscape Architecture

Patricia McGirr, Undergraduate Program Director &
Chief Undergraduate Advisor


104 Hills North

Legal Studies

Paul Collins, Undergraduate Program Director


328 Thompson Hall

  Bryan Coutain, Chief Undergraduate Advisor 413.545.3678 224 Thompson Hall

Political Science

Jesse Rhodes, Undergraduate Program Director


310 Thompson Hall

  Bryan Coutain, Chief Undergraduate Advisor 413.545.3678 224 Thompson Hall

Resource Economics

Julie Caswell,  Undergraduate Program Director


223 Stockbridge Hall

  Lianne Hansen, Chief Undergraduate Advisor 413.545.2490 208C Stockbridge Hall

Social Thought and Political Economy

Sigrid Schmalzer, Undergraduate Program Director


E-27A Machmer

  Tyler Rocco Chaffee, Chief Undergraduate Advisor (until 12/10/14) 413.545.0043 E-27A Machmer


Anna (Enobong) Branch, Undergraduate Program Director


736 Thompson Hall

  Christin Glodek, Chief Undergraduate Advisor 413.545.4056 704 Thompson Hall