SPHHS Announces 2016 Research Day Award Winners

April 6, 2016

The School of Public Health and Health Sciences is pleased to announce the results of the faculty-juried poster competition from the 19th Annual Research Day held on April 5, 2016. The SPHHS would like to thank everyone who participated in this year’s Research Day and made it such a success!

The 2016 Research Day Award winners are:

1st Place

Samuel Montgomery (BS, Kinesiology) for “Evaluation of Angiogenic Paracrine Activity of CD34+ Enriched Peripheral Blood Mononuclear Cells”

2nd Place

Maegan Boutot (MS, Biostatistics & Epidemiology) for “Vegetable Protein Intake and Early Menopause in the Nurses’ Health Study”

3rd Place

Jocelyn Hafer (PhD, Kinesiology) for “Older women’s muscle and gait response to a bout of exercise differs by physical activity level”

Delta Omega Honor Society Award Winners

Megan Harvey (PhD, Biostatistics & Epidemiology) for “Gestational Weight Gain and Risk of Cesarean Delivery in Hispanic Women”

Alexandra Purdue-Smithe (PhD, Biostatistics & Epidemiology) for “Vitamin D and Calcium Intake and Risk of Early Menopause”

The SPHHS Annual Research Day is co-sponsored by the School of Public Health and Health Sciences & The Rho Chapter, Delta Omega Honorary Public Health Society. A gallery of photos from the event is available below.