Skip to main content
The University of Massachusetts Amherst

Academic Calendar

Please note: Some classes meet outside of the standard semester dates, for variable-length classes (Session Code = CD1), please see individual class descriptions for deadlines and refund schedule.

Summer 2022
Mon Mar 14 Summer registration begins
Thu May 12 Preview Week for Online (Blackboard) Session 1 Classes begins 
Thu May 19 First day of Session 1 classes
Fri May 20 Last day for new non-degree students to submit enrollment form for Session 1 classes
Wed May 25 Session 1 Add/Drop ends, 100% refund (class fees only) ends
Mon May 30 Memorial Day - No classes; Offices closed
Thu Jun 2 Monday class schedule will be followed
Tue Jun 14 Session 1 last day to drop with "W" or "DR" and select P/F  (Ugrad students)
Session 1 last day for 50% class fee removal/refund
Mon Jun 20 Juneteenth - No classes; Offices closed
Thu Jun 23 Grade rosters for classes ending by July 1 available to instructors in SPIRE
Fri Jun 24 Monday class schedule will be followed
Fri Jul 1 Session 1 classes end
Preview Week for Online (Blackboard) Session 2 Classes begins 
Mon Jul 4 Independence Day - No classes; Offices closed
Thu Jul 7 Grades for classes ending by July 1 due in SPIRE (end of day)
Fri Jul 8 Official Summer grades begin showing on transcripts (late in day)
Mon Jul 11 First day of Session 2 classes
Last day for new non-degree students to submit enrollment form for Session 2 classes
Fri Jul 15 Session 2 Add/Drop ends; 100% refund (class fees only) ends
Wed Aug 3 Session 2 last day to drop with "W" or "DR" and select P/F  (Ugrad students)
Session 2 last day for 50% class fee removal/refund
Wed Aug 10 Final grade rosters available to instructors in SPIRE
Fri Aug 19 Last day of Summer classes, Summer term ends
Thu Aug 25 Remaining summer grades due from faculty in SPIRE (end of day)
Fri Aug 26 Final summer grades show on transcripts (late in day)
Fall 2022
Mon June 6 UWW Fall registration begins
Tue Aug 30 Univ. day open course registration begins (course list on website)
Preview Week for online (Blackboard) classes begins
Mon Sep 5 Labor Day - Offices closed
Tue Sep 6 Classes begin
Wed Sep 7 Last day for new non-degree students to submit enrollment form for Fall
Mon Sep 12 Add/Drop ends (Undergraduate and Non-degree students)
Tue Sep 13 Withdrawal period begins (Undergraduate and Non-degree students)
Mon Sep 19 Add/Drop ends (Graduate students)
Last day for 100% class fee refund for ALL students
Tue Sep 20 Withdrawal period begins (Graduate students)
Mon Oct 10 Indigenous Peoples Day - Offices closed
Wed Oct 12 Winter 2023 Registration begins
Tue Nov 1 Withdrawal periods end
Last day for 50% class fee refund for ALL students
Last day to select P/F grading
Mon Nov 7 UWW Spring 2023 Registration begins
Fri Nov 11 Veterans Day - Offices closed
Tue Nov 22 Friday class schedule will be followed
Thanksgiving recess begins following end of classes
Thu Nov 24 Thanksgiving Day - Offices closed
Mon Nov 28 Classes resume
Mon Dec 12 Last day of classes
Tue Dec 13 Reading Day
Wed Dec 14 Final exams begin
Sat Dec 17 Reading Day
Tue Dec 20 Final exams end
Wed Dec 21 Snow day for exams
Semester ends
Tue Dec 27 Final grades due by midnight in SPIRE
Thu Dec 29 Grades show on transcripts
Winter 2023
Wed Oct 12 Winter registration begins
Wed Dec 14 Preview Week for online (Blackboard) classes begins 
Wed Dec 21 Winter classes begin
Thu Dec 22 Last day for new non-degree students to submit enrollment application for Winter
Sat Dec 24 Holiday break starts
Tue Dec 27 Classes resume
Thu Dec 29 Add/Drop ends; Last day for 100% class fee refund
Campus Closure Day
Fri Dec 30 Withdrawal period begins
Campus Closure Day
Mon Jan 2 New Year's Holiday observed
Mon Jan 16 Martin Luther King Holiday
Wed Jan 18 Withdrawal period ("W" Ugrad/"DR" Grad) ends; Last day to select P/F grading (Ugrads); Last day for 50% class refund
Fri Jan 27 Grade rosters available to instructors (approximate)
Fri Feb 3 Last day of classes
Thu Feb 9 Final grades due on SPIRE by 11:59 p.m.
Fri Feb 10 Grades posted to student records
Spring 2023
Mon Nov 7 UWW Spring registration begins (degree students - check SPIRE for enrollment appt date/time) 
Mon Jan 30 Preview Week for Online (Blackboard) Classes begins 
Univ. Day Open Course Registration begins (Course list available on web) 
Mon Feb 6 Spring classes begin
Tue Feb 7 Last day for new non-degree students to submit enrollment form for Spring
Sun Feb 12 Add/Drop Ends -  Matriculated Undergraduate and Non-degree students
Sun Feb 19 Add/Drop Ends -  Matriculated Graduate students
Last day for 100% class fee refund for ALL students 
Mon Feb 20 Withdrawal period begins
Presidents' Day - No classes; Offices closed
Wed Feb 22 Monday class schedule will be followed
Sun Mar 12 Spring recess begins
Mon Mar 13 Summer Session Registration Begins
Mon Mar 20 Classes resume
Mon Apr 10 Last day to Withdraw with a "W' or select P/F (undergrad)
Last day to drop with "DR" for Graduate students
Last day for 50% class fee refund for ALL students
Mon Apr 17 Patriots Day - No classes; Offices closed
Wed Apr 19 Classes resume
Wed May 17 Last day of classes
Thu May 18 Reading Day
Fri May 19 Finals begin
Sat May 20 Second Reading Day
Thu May 25 Last day of final exams;  Semester ends
Mon May 29 Memorial Day - Offices closed
Thu Jun 1 Final grades due in SPIRE by midnight
Mon Jun 5 Official Grades show on transcripts