The University of Massachusetts Amherst

Introduction to Content Types

In Drupal, each item of content is called a node, and each node belongs to a single content type, which defines various default settings for nodes of that type, such as whether the node is Promoted to the Front Page, where in the navigation menu the node is placed, what fields of information are collected in that node, etc...

Adding Content

To add a new page of content (node) hover your mouse over Content > Add Content and choose the appropriate content type.

Note: Hovering your mouse over Content and clicking Add Content will open the Add Content administration page which displays a description of every content type on your site.

Adding Content

Default Content Types

By default, the UDP comes with five content types. Your site may differ based on the scope of your project and the specific needs of your site.

Basic Page

Basic pages are the catch all content type for nodes on your site. If your content doesn't fall into the remaining specialized content types, a basic page will likely fit your needs.

Event

Create an Event for time-based content that has a start date and time with the option to include an end date and a location.

Note: You can view a list of events on most UDP sites at the URL umass.edu/sitename/events

News Item

News Items are meant for time-sensitive content like news, press releases or announcements. News Items are promoted to the Front Page by default and include an image upload field. News Items also come with an Archive Date field by default. If the Archive Date is set, the news item will move off of the main news page and onto the News Archive Page.

Note: News can generally be found at umass.edu/sitename/news while Archived News is found at umass.edu/sitename/news/archive

Profile

By default, faculty, staff, and student profiles may be created on the site. Profiles include an image upload field as well as a number of informative fields. Profiles differ from the other content types in that their information is located across horizontal tabs that must be clicked for access.

Profile Tabs

Slideshow Image

By default, Slideshow Images display on the Front Page of your site in the Featured Panel region. Creating a new Slideshow Image automatically adds another image to the slideshow, while unpublishing or deleting the node removes the image from the slideshow.

Note: If there is only one node of this type published, the slideshow will be replaced by a static image.

Featured Panel

VIew Site Content

You can view all nodes on a site by clicking Content in the Admin Toolbar. For a list of all webforms, if any, on your site, click Webforms in the top right corner of the page.

Note: To view a list of all blocks on your site see Intro to blocks.

Sorting

By default, the nodes are sorted chronologically based on when they were last updated. The sorted column displays darker than the others and includes a black arrow beside the category being sorted.

Click on a category to sort by that column. The sorting categories available are:

  • Title
  • Type
  • Author
  • Published
  • Updated

Note: To toggle the display order, click the category a second time.

Filtering

By default, the content page displays all nodes on your site. You can filter these nodes by utilizing the available filters along the top of the page:

  • Title: Node title or page title
  • Type: Content type
  • Author: Person who initially created the node
  • Published: Whether or not Published is checked in the nodes Publishing Options tab.
  • Vocabulary: If the node has an associated vocabulary (Profiles include a vocabulary by default)

Click Apply after adjusting one or more of the filters to display results matching your criteria. Click Reset to clear all filters and display all nodes.

Note: No, all your site's content isn't missing! The site remembers your last filtered results and is displaying only those nodes. Click reset to display all nodes.

Operations

The Operations drop-down box allows you to perform actions on one or several nodes at the same time. Click the check-box to the left of the Title column to select all nodes (click again to un-select) or click the check-box next to individual nodes and then choose from one of the following operations:

  • Change author
  • Delete: Deleting a node is permanent. The content and all revisions will be lost.
  • Stick: Make page sticky at top of lists.
  • Unstick
  • Change value
  • Promote to front page
  • Publish
  • Demote from front page
  • Unpublish
  • Update node alias: Change URL alias listed in the URL path settings tab

Click Execute and follow the individualized on-screen prompts.

Note: Operations is an advanced feature that has the potential of severely damaging your site if used incorrectly.

Edit and Delete

You can edit or delete a node by clicking the links in the Operations column list on the far right of the page.

Note: To learn more about editing existing content, see Editing Site Content.