Manning Prize for Excellence in Teaching

2019 Manning Prize winner Wilmore Webley with Chancellor Subbaswamy, Donna and Robert Manning, and President Meehan.

The Manning Prize for Excellence in Teaching honors one outstanding faculty member from each of the five campuses of the University of Massachusetts.  Now in its third year, this competitive prize is presented to faculty members who demonstrate excellence in teaching along with exemplary dedication to students and the campus community.

President Meehan will host a luncheon celebrating the achievements of the selected faculty members, each presented with a $10,000 award.  Beginning in 2016, the Manning Prize will be presented annually for three years.  If successful, the Manning Prize will be endowed and become a permanent award for the University of Massachusetts.

Manning Prize Winners

Haivan Hoang at the 2017 Manning Prize Luncheon

2017 Manning Prize winner Haivan Hoang with Chancellor Subbaswamy, Donna and Robert Manning, and President Meehan.


All full time, tenure-system and non-tenure-system faculty members are eligible to receive this award.


  • Nominations due December 14, 2018.
  • Applications and letters of support due January 25, 2019 5:00 PM.
  • Notification of winner and other nominees approximately March 31, 2019.

Selection criteria

  • Sustained excellence in teaching demonstrated through inclusive and high-impact teaching practices that actively engage diverse students.
  • Exemplary contribution to the campus community, including mentoring colleagues, sharing best practices, scholarship, and other forms of leadership contributing to excellence in teaching and learning.
  • Outstanding record of supporting students’ achievement of educational and career goals through mentoring and advising, especially students from underrepresented groups.

Scott Auerbach at the 2016 Manning Prize Luncheon

2016 Manning Prize winner Scott Auerbach with Chancellor Subbaswamy, Donna and Robert Manning, and President Meehan.

Nomination & Application Process

Nominations: Each department may nominate one faculty member. Nomination of previous College Outstanding Teaching Award and Distinguished Teaching Award winners is encouraged, however faculty with compelling contributions to teaching and learning who have not won either of these awards are welcome. Nominations are due December 14, 2018.

Applications: All nominees will be notified by TEFD and may submit applications and invite letters of support, all due January 25, 2019 5:00 PM.  These materials should include and not exceed:

  • Online application form, making sure to use text boxes to annotate contents of the application package (each item described with no more than up to 100-words);
  • Teaching statement detailing beliefs and practices about teaching, learning, and mentoring, and directly addressing the selection criteria below.  Must not exceed 2,000 words;
  • Three student support letters (letters written within last 2 years, though the relationship may be older);
  • Two peer/faculty support letters;
  • One chair/head support letter;
  • Supplemental materials: One syllabus developed by applicant and up to four other documents of applicant’s choosing as evidence of effective teaching practices and mentoring.

Submission instructions: Nominees please submit application materials using the link above (Please note: materials that exceed the stated word counts will be truncated at the stipulated word count and information after that point will not be considered).  If you are submitting a letter of support for a nominee please use the link below. Please contact with any questions

(*UMass log-in required.  If you are a letter writer who is not currently UMass-affiliated, please email your letter to

Selection Committee 

  • Two faculty members
  • One undergraduate student
  • One graduate student
  • One TEFD staff member
  • One Office of the Provost representative

PDF version of this Manning Prize process.

For more information, contact the Manning Prize Committee