VanKim, Bertone-Johnson among Diversity Science Seed Grant Recipients

From Left: Elizabeth Bertone-Johnson, Professor of Epidemiology;
Nicole VanKim, Assistant Professor of Epidemiology;
Lynnette Leidy Sievert, Professor of Anthropology

June 21, 2018

Epidemiology faculty members Nicole VanKim and Elizabeth Bertone-Johnson, with Lynnette Leidy Sievert, anthropology, are among the inaugural recipients of seed grants provided by the campus’s new Institute of Diversity Sciences. 

The researchers are one of six multidisciplinary teams awarded up to $12,000 to conduct preliminary studies investigating new research questions about the causes or consequences of group disparities or diversity from many angles. They received their award for a project titled “Sexual Orientation Differences in Menopause Timing and Symptoms.”

Nilanjana “Buju” Dasgupta, institute director and professor of psychological and brain sciences, says, “The long game is to advance each project to the next stage of seeking larger, competitive external grants.”

“The goal of this institute and of these seed grants is to break down disciplinary silos and foster a new kind of intellectual environment where people come together who study similar topics but from very different angles,” Dasgupta says. “The Institute of Diversity Sciences is a match-maker that brings together researchers and practitioners whose expertise and interests complement each other and we provide incentives to make the match work.”

Learn more about all of the Diversity Science Seed Grant recipients here.