SPHHS Students Receive 2020 Alumni Association Awards

May 27, 2020

Nine students from the School of Public Health and Health Sciences recently won UMass Amherst Alumni Association scholarship awards for 2020. The awards were distributed based on outstanding academic achievements, leadership, and community service.

The SPHHS award recipients are:

Senior Leadership Award:

  • Lily Clemente ’20, Communication Disorders

The Senior Leadership Award recognizes graduating seniors who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and service to the UMass Amherst community. Award recipients have distinguished themselves through important contributions to student organizations, campus jobs, academic excellence and community service.

William F. Field Alumni Scholar Award:

  • Lucas Boucicaut ’21, Kinesiology
  • Eliannee De La Cruz ’21, Public Health Sciences
  • Lindsay Hohenberg ’21, Communication Disorders
  • Caleigh Oneil ’21, Kinesiology
  • Imane Oubtrou ’21, Public Health Sciences
  • Camilla Prata ’21, Nutrition

The William F. Field Alumni Scholar Awards were established in 1976 to recognize and honor third-year students for their academic achievements at UMass Amherst. The program was named in honor of William F. Field, the university’s first Dean of Students, for his outstanding support of academic excellence and his personal commitment to bringing out the best in every student.

Michael W. Morris '63 Scholarship:

  • Pichliya Liang ’22, Public Health Sciences

The Michael W. Morris Scholarship has been named in honor of Lawrence native and longtime UMass Amherst champion, Michael W. Morris of the class of 1963. A past president of the Alumni Association, he remains a vital and active alumni ambassador. This scholarship is available to current undergraduate students from the Lawrence or Lowell areas who demonstrate distinctive character, leadership, and motivation through active participation in the campus community.

David R. Nunez ’03 Scholarship for Community Service and Leadership:

  • Althea Turley '20, Public Health Sciences;

The David R. Nunez ’03 Scholarship for Community Service and Leadership was created in honor of the late David R. Nunez, an outstanding student leader at UMass Amherst. David served as Student Government President, worked in Residential Life, and was a member of ALANA Affairs. David’s greatest passion was equal access to higher education and keeping UMass Amherst affordable. Recipients demonstrate a strong commitment to community service and student leadership.

View the full list of 2020 UMass Amherst Alumni Association Award recipients here.