SPHHS students granted Alumni Association Awards in 2017

University of Massachusetts Amherst Alumni Association awardees from the School of Public Health and Health Sciences (SPHHS)

Clockwise, from left: Jessica-Sophie Horoschak, Jihyun Jung, 
Mary Lavery, Abigail White, and Ruijia Wang

April 1, 2017

Ten School of Public Health and Health Sciences students recently won UMass Alumni Association Awards for 2017. Awards were distributed based on outstanding academic achievements, leadership, and community service.

Mary Lavery '19, a sophomore in the Public Health major, was awarded the Robert B. Collins '19 Student Alumni Association Scholarship. This scholarship provides assistance to active members of the Student Alumni Association who also have strong academic records.

Audrey Calianos ’20, of Nutrition, was awarded a General Scholarship.

Luke Arieta '18 of Kinesiology, Allison Daley '18 of Public Health, Jessica-Sophie Horoschak '18 of Public Health, Jihyun Jung '18 of Communication Disorders, Paige Makuch '18 of Nutrition, Abigail White '18 of Public Health, and Sarah Wilcox '18 of Kinesiology were awarded William F. Field Alumni Scholar Awards. This award was established to recognize and honor third-year students for their academic achievements at UMass Amherst.

Ruijia Wang '17 of Public Health was awarded the Senior Leadership Award. The Senior Leadership Award recognizes graduating seniors who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and service to the UMass Amherst community. Award recipients have distinguished themselves through important contributions to student organizations, campus jobs, academic excellence and community service.

Click here to view the full list of UMass Alumni Association Award recipients for 2017.