SPHHS Announces 2019 Research Day Award Winners

Left to right: Interim Dean Nancy Cohen with Research Day winners Aruna Priya (3rd place),
Monika Roy (2nd place), and Christine Langton (1st place)

April 2, 2019

The School of Public Health and Health Sciences held its 22nd Annual Research Day on April 2, 2019, in the Campus Center Auditorium. The event, celebrated annually during National Public Health Week, is an opportunity for the campus community to learn more about the research, instruction and outreach conducted by its students.

The faculty-juried poster session is judged based on content and presentation, and the top three students are awarded prizes for their research. The top poster is also eligible for submission to the Delta Omega Honor Society’s poster session at the annual meeting of the American Public Health Association.

"Thank you to all the students who participated in a highly successful SPHHS Research Day, and to all their faculty sponsors," said Interim Dean Nancy Cohen. "This year, we had 39 student submissions across all academic levels – including undergraduate, masters, and doctoral student presenters. Our student research spanned the spectrum from cellular to community-based participatory research, representing the terrific depth and breadth of work being conducted within public health and health sciences. Their work highlighted the common mission within our school to promote health and quality of life." 

The 2019 Research Day award winners are:

1st place and Delta Omega Honor Society winner: Christine Langton (Biostatistics and Epidemiology, PhD - faculty sponsor Dr. Elizabeth Bertone-Johnson) 
“Oral Contraceptive Use and Incidence of Early Natural Menopause”

2nd place: Monika Roy (Environmental Health Sciences, PhD - faculty sponsor Dr. Alicia Timme-Laragy) 
“Developmental Hepatotoxicity of PCB-11 in Combination with PCB-126 in Zebrafish (Danio rerio) is Dependent upon the Window of Exposure” 

3rd place: Aruna Priya (Biostatistics and Epidemiology, PhD - faculty sponsor Dr. Penny Pekow) 
“Association of Pulmonary Rehabilitation Following Hospitalization for COPD with 1-Year Survival among Medicare Patients”

Visit our Facebook page for a full gallery of photos from the event.