SPHHS announces 2017 Research Day award winners

UMass Amherst School of Public Health and Health Sciences Research Day Award Winners

From left to right: Aurora Foster, Sridurgadevi Kolla, Lindsey Russo, Dean Marjorie Aelion, Alexandra Olmsted

April 5, 2017

The School of Public Health and Health Sciences (SPHHS) has announced the results of the faculty-juried poster competition from the 20th Annual Research Day held on April 4, 2017. In addition, the SPHHS has named its 2017 Delta Omega poster abstract submission winner. The organizers would like to thank everyone who participated in the 2017 Research Day and made it such a success.

The 2017 Research Day Award winners are:

1st Place

Alexandra Olmsted (Environmental Health Sciences, MS). “Sperm Mitochondrial Copy Number and Associations with Oxidative Stress and Phthalate Metabolites in Male Partners Undergoing Assisted Reproductive Technologies (ART).”

2nd Place

Aurora Foster (Kinesiology, MS). “Age-related decreases in whole muscle performance are sex-specific and predicted by molecular level alterations at in vivo myofilament lattice spacing.”

3rd Place

Sridurgadevi Kolla (Public Health Sciences, BS). “Developmental Exposure to Xenoestrogens and Their Effects on Female Mouse Mammary Gland.”

Delta Omega Honor Society Award Winner

Lindsey Russo (Biostatistics and Epidemiology, MS). “A Prospective Study of Physical Activity and Fecundability.”

Research Day is co-sponsored by the School of Public Health and Health Sciences & the Rho Chapter, Delta Omega Honorary Public Health Society.

View our Facebook photo gallery from the event here.