News Archive

Nutrition alumna Lauren Mahoney
July 28, 2021

Nutrition alumna Lauren Mahoney ’19 is the recipient of a 2021 Massachusetts Dietitians Education Foundation scholarship. The foundation is the charitable arm of the Massachusetts Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

Lindiwe Sibeko
June 28, 2021

Associate Professor Lindiwe Sibeko has been named Chair of the Department of Nutrition effective September 1. She takes over from Elena Carbone, who will be stepping down to assume the position of Associate Dean for Curriculum and Academic Oversight for the Commonwealth Honors College.

UMass Amherst Nutrition alumna Jennifer Navaroli
June 22, 2021

Jennifer Navaroli, who earned her Master of Public Health in Nutrition at the University of Massachusetts Amherst in 2018, has joined Acton, Massachusetts-based Middlesex Digestive Health & Endoscopy Center. The center specializes in the evaluation, diagnosis and management of digestive diseases.

University of Massachusetts Nutrition faculty Lorraine Cordeiro
June 16, 2021

Associate Professor of Nutrition Lorraine Cordeiro has been announced as the new director of the UMass Amherst Center for Research on Families (CRF).

UMass Amherst Nutrition doctoral student Jinseon Yook
May 26, 2021

Nutrition graduate student Jinseon Yook has been selected to receive the American Society for Nutrition (ASN) George Bray Obesity Research Student Award. This award is given for outstanding research related to the causes, treatment or prevention of obesity.

May 25, 2021

Eight students from the School of Public Health and Health Sciences recently won UMass Amherst Alumni Association scholarship awards for 2021. The awards were distributed based on outstanding academic achievements, leadership, and community service.

Dean Siega-Riz with Epidemiology scholarship award winner Stevaughn Smith
May 25, 2021

The School of Public Health and Health Sciences honored its 2021 scholarship recipients during an outdoor awards ceremony on April 30, 2021. The event was held under a tent outside the Totman Building with full COVID-19 protocols in effect. Student award recipients were recognized for outstanding achievements in the classroom, in research, and through service to the community.

Lisa Troy
May 24, 2021

The American Society for Nutrition (ASN) and the ASN Foundation have selected Associate Professor of Nutrition Lisa M. Troy as a recipient of its ASN Volunteer of the Year Award. The Volunteer of the Year Award recognizes outstanding contributions to enhance, promote, and support the activities and programs of ASN, and is being presented to Troy and her colleagues on the Minority and Diversity Affairs Committee.

UMass Amherst Dietetic Intern alumna Kristen Chulada
May 24, 2021

The New Hampshire Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics has named Kristen Chulada, RDN, LD, CSSD as its 2021 Recognized Young Dietitian. Chulada, who completed her Dietetic Internship at the University of Massachusetts Amherst in 2016, is the campus dietitian at Southern New Hampshire University.

Assistant professors Sarah Gonzalez-Nahm (Nutrition) and Chi Hyun Lee (Biostatistics and Epidemiology)
May 18, 2021

Assistant professors Sarah Gonzalez-Nahm (Nutrition) and Chi Hyun Lee (Biostatistics and Epidemiology) are among the 14 UMass Amherst faculty members selected as 2021 Faculty Success Fellows.

  • 1 of 25
  • »