Aelion elected as secretary/treasurer for the ASPH

March 18, 2013

C. Marjorie Aelion, Dean of the School of Public Health and Health Sciences (SPHHS), has been elected to the Association of Schools of Public Health (ASPH) Board of Directors and to serve as Secretary/Treasurer for a two-year term. Secretary/treasurer is one of two elected positions within the ASPH, the other being Chair. Dean Aelion also was selected to be a member of the Board Governance Committee comprised of the deans from Emory University, Johns Hopkins University, the University of California Berkeley, University of North Carolina, University of Michigan, and University of Oklahoma. In addition to serving as secretary/treasurer for the ASPH, Dean Aelion is a member of several ASPH committees including the Diversity Committee, the Global Health Committee, and the Education Committee.

The ASPH is the only organization representing the Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH)-accredited schools of public health and programs seeking accreditation as schools of public health. ASPH promotes the efforts of schools of public health to improve the health of every person through education, research, and policy, working to develop solutions to the most pressing health concerns and providing access to the ongoing initiatives of the schools of public health. ASPH recently changed its bylaws to eliminate the geographic limitation of membership to North America. This has opened the doors to CEPH-accreditation to Schools of Public Health from all countries.

Dean Aelion joined UMass Amherst as dean of the SPHHS in January, 2009.