Delta Omega Honor Society – Rho Chapter

The Delta Omega Honor Society is the public health honorary society within accredited schools and programs of public health. The purpose of the Society is to encourage excellence in student scholarship and research, to recognize academic and professional achievement in the field of public health, and to promote continued effort in public health. Originally founded in 1924 at The Johns Hopkins University, the national Delta Omega Society has more than 70 local chapters in the USA and internationally. Our local chapter, the Rho Chapter, was founded at the University of Massachusetts Amherst in 1985 by Professor Emeritus Robert Tuthill with assistance from Professor Emeritus Howard Peters and Dean Emeritus William Darity. 

The Rho Chapter of Delta Omega in the SPHHS is affiliated with both the graduate and undergraduate program. For more information please visit the national Delta Omega Web site.

For the graduate programs, election to plenary membership is intended to recognize merits and to encourage further excellence in public health. There are three categories of nomination: 1) graduate student to be graduated in the spring of the student’s last semester; 2) alumnus/a; and 3) faculty. Nomination for membership to the Rho Chapter is open to the Amherst campus, including the Online MPH in Public Health Practice program and the affiliated MPH program with the UMass Worcester campus. Each category requires a nomination and support letters.

For the undergraduate programs, membership is termed “Associate Membership” for students in their last semester before graduation for nomination. The student is expected to follow a career in public health. The initial selection is based on the GPA of the previous semesters and mid-terms in the last semester and then, when approved to apply, a personal statement. The undergraduate program director is responsible for this part of the process. Recommendations and academic materials are then passed to a committee for final selection by the undergraduate program director.