March 4, 2019

The Department of Communication Disorders in conjunction with the UMass Amherst Stroke Support Group will host Broken Chords, Healing Harmonies, a concert to raise awareness of individuals with communication impairments and the healing power of music, on Saturday, March 30, from 1:00 – 2:15 pm in the Northampton Center for the Arts.

University of Massachusetts Amherst Professor of Communication Disorders Karen Helfer
March 1, 2019

Karen Helfer, Chair and Professor of Communication Disorders, is one of six UMass Amherst faculty members who have been awarded a Chancellor’s Leadership Fellowship for 2019. She will work with Michelle Budig, Vice Provost for Faculty Development in the Office of Faculty Development. 

November 30, 2018

The School of Public Health and Health Sciences (SPHHS) will hold its 2019 Senior Recognition Ceremony on Friday, May 10, 2019, from 1:30-3:00 pm in the Mullins Center.

November 7, 2018

Do you have a “little bit” of trouble hearing? Have you been told that you are “not quite ready’ for hearing aids? Are you between 50 and 64 years of age? If so, you are invited to participate in an NIH-funded research study on personal sound amplification products (PSAPs) by researchers from the department of communication disorders.

November 2, 2018

The Department of Communication Disorders has released the inaugural issue of the its alumni newsletter.

October 24, 2018

Third year Audiology doctoral student Shannon O’Neil recently received a travel award to attend the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) annual convention.

September 24, 2018

Patricia A. Mercaitis, retired Associate Professor of Communication Disorders, died September 7.

September 21, 2018

The School of Public Health and Health Sciences welcomes eight new full-time tenure-track faculty members into its ranks this academic year. New faculty hires for Fall 2018 include Chi Hyun Lee, Andrew Lover, and Youssef Oulhote in the Department of Biostatistics and Epidemiology; Megan Gross in the Department of Communication Disorders; Airin D. Martinez, Luis Valdez, and John Zeber  in the Department of Health Promotion and Policy; and Gwenael Layec in the Department of Kinesiology.

UMass Amherst Assistant Professor of Communication Disorders Sara Mamo
September 19, 2018

Assistant Professor of Communication Disorders Sara Mamo recently received a five-year, $745,000 grant from the NIH’s National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders to study age-related hearing loss in people with mild cognitive impairment or Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias.

August 2, 2018

Individuals are needed for a study of speech perception in aging being conducted by researchers in the Aging and Speech Perception Lab in the department of communication disorders.

  • 1 of 2
  • »