Award Recipients

2017 Award Recipients

Whatever sociology may be, it is the result of constantly asking the question, what is the meaning of this? — C. Wright Mills

University Awards

Erin Hamilton
William F. Field Alumni Scholarship

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences Awards

Maylene Rodriguez Scott
Dean's Merit Award

Brittany Justin
Dean's Opportunity

Brittany Justice
Aidan Novo
SBS Internship Award

Brittany Justin
Sutton Award

Outstanding Service to the Sociology Major

​Caitlin Arnold
​Erin Hamilton
Michaela (Mic) McMullen
Canaris Simmons

Departmental Awards

Brandon Viera
Meghan K. Beebe Senior Speaker

Christopher Oo
Henry Korson Best Senior

Muntaha Elsir
Henry Korson Best Junior

Shao Yu (Dora) Tsent
David S. Leiderman Award

Xinying Lu
Jane Addams Sociology in Practice Award

Adrianne Smith
C. Wright Mills Award for Sociological Imagination

Sociology Best Paper

Christopher Oo, Defending the Sacred: Two Weeks on the Frontlines in the Struggle for Life

Best Class Paper

Carly Williams, A Critical Look at the Exploitation of Diversity at UMass Amherst

W.E.B. Du Bois Outstanding Sociological Achievement Award


Senior Honorees:
Sakina Bengali
Carly Burgess
Igor Bykov
Daniela Capli Duarti
Amy Carroll
Benjamin Colman
Tyler Cotta
Colleen Dehais
Michael Dullea
Allyson Enos
Rusheika Gordon
Lajeanesse Harris
Brianna Zimmerman
Zoe Hertz
Alfonso Hidalgo
Serena Jethmalani
Emun Legesse
Sam Kefferstan
Melanie Maimon
Laila Mai-Nguyen
Caleb Miller
Makilah Price
Aimee Roberts
Amanda Santos
Gabriel Zarkadas


Junior Honorees:
Kerry Brock
Jaeli Graham
Michaela Macquarrie
Veronica McLaughlin
Jennifer Szafir

Download the 2017 Awards BBQ Announcement