The University of Massachusetts Amherst



Cathryn Brubaker


Office: Thompson 824

Michelle Budig

Vice Provost for Faculty Development and Professor of Sociology

Office: Bartlett Hall 360

David Cort

Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director

Office: Thompson 1034

Cedric de Leon

Associate Professor and Director of the Labor Center

Office: Thompson 730

Kat Fabel

Lecturer and Chief Undergraduate Advisor

Office: Thompson 1008

Naomi Gerstel

Distinguished University Professor

Office: Thompson 826

Sanjiv Gupta

Associate Professor

Office: Thompson 806

Clare Hammonds


Office: Thompson 728

Janice Irvine

Professor and Interim Chair of the Department

Office: Thompson 916

Moon-Kie Jung


Office: Thompson 830


Adjunct Faculty

Lynette Bloise, M.S.W., L.I.C.S.W., University Health Services (retired) | Fall only

Veronica Everett, Thompson 838

Liana Foxvog, Thompson 722 | Fall only

Kathleen Hulton, Thompson 932

Jerrold Levinsky, Thompson 722 | Fall only

Ide O'Carroll, Thompson 818

Jane Pendergast, Thompson 838 | Spring only

Robert Ryan, Criminal Justice Internship Coordinator, Thompson 1014

Ana Villalobos, Thompson 838 | Fall only

Affiliated Faculty

Steven Boutcher, Executive Officer, Law and Society Association

Miliann Kang, Associate Professor, Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies

Jessica Pearlman, Research Methodologist, Institute for Social Science Research


Emeritus Faculty

Al Chevan Roland Chilton N.J. Demerath
Edwin Driver Robert Faulkner Gene Fisher
John Hewitt Christopher Hurn Michael Lewis
Surinder Mehta Suzanne Model Jon Simpson
Randall Stokes Rick Tessler Robert Zussman