Student Government Association

 University of Massachusetts Amherst




"To establish and protect the democratic system for undergraduate university governance; to promote the general welfare of all university undergraduate students."

"To create and maintain strong lines of communication between students and university administrators; to work toward greater transparency in administrative decisions."

"To protect the accessibility and affordability of the university for all students."

"To work to acknowledge, appreciate, and expand the diversity of the student body, including socioeconomic, racial, religious, cultural, gender, sexual orientation, and political characteristics."

"To provide leadership opportunities and development for all undergraduate students and to set the standards which other schools strive to uphold when leading their students into the future."


Executive Branch

The Executive Branch of the University of Massachusetts Amherst's Student Government Association (SGA) is the core of its governance structure. Led by the President, who is elected annually by the student body, this branch is responsible for executing the SGA's operational framework. The President holds the authority to appoint essential personnel such as the Executive Cabinet and Student Judiciary, ensuring the smooth functioning of the SGA's initiatives. As a participant in the Senate, the President contributes to discussions while also presenting their legislative priorities. The SGA Executive Branch operates to facilitate effective student governance and foster campus improvements at UMass Amherst.


Legislative Branch

The Legislative Branch of the University of Massachusetts Amherst's Student Government Association (SGA) holds the core legislative authority of the organization. The central body within this branch is the University Undergraduate Senate, known as the Senate, alongside other subordinate legislative entities. Comprising representatives designated by the Senate to each class, the senate holds 60 Senators, 8 Chairs, an Associate Speaker and the Speaker of the Senate. Senators are elected through a process governed by the elections commission and serve for one-academic year. The Senate is endowed with a range of powers, including reviewing and offering recommendations on the Student Activities Fee, determining its rules and procedures, electing officers, and establishing meeting schedules. The Senate's capacity to enact, amend, or repeal the General By-laws, approve budgets, initiate referendums, and engage in various decision-making processes ensures its critical role in the SGA's governance. Ultimately, the Legislative Branch, spearheaded by the Senate, upholds the integrity of student representation and influence at UMass Amherst.


Judiciary Branch

The Judiciary of the University of Massachusetts Amherst's Student Government Association (SGA) holds the role of legal oversight and dispute resolution within the organization. With original jurisdiction over matters arising from the SGA's Constitution, General By-laws, or Acts, the Judiciary consists of seven appointed Justices. These Justices possess the authority to deem actions unconstitutional or in violation of SGA regulations, rendering them invalid, except for governance items approved by the Board of Trustees. Individuals external to the Judiciary can file petitions for rulings on actions' legality within ninety days, and the Judiciary's quorum consists of five Justices, including the Chief or Associate Chief Justice. Elected from the Judiciary's members, the Chief Justice presides over the body, while the Associate Chief Justice serves as its chief clerk. In summation, the Judiciary ensures the adherence to legal standards within the SGA at UMass Amherst.