Society, Community & Culture

The School of Earth & Sustainability is proud to represent the departments, faculty, researchers, and staff that comprise our membership.

We have eight areas of excellence that unite the SES community. Our convergence research is adaptative and wide-ranging, examining the most pressing societal challenges of our time. View our Society, Community & Culture experts and learn about our contributions, innovative approaches and discoveries in Society, Community & Culture.

 

Toby Applegate

tapplega@umass.edu
Geosciences
Faculty

Camille Barchers

cbarchers@umass.edu
Landscape Architecture & Regional Planning
Faculty

“I am trained as a City Planner and I investigate how planners use technology to engage with communities and with each other. I examine how technology (big data, artificial intelligence, urban analytics) can be used to support long range planning for climate change, land use and equity. I also study how interpersonal, small-group communication in planning meetings supports planning outcomes in land use and regional planning efforts.”

Paul Barten

pkbarten@eco.umass.edu
Environmental Conservation
Faculty

Sarah Berquist

Berquist.sarah@gmail.com
Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Faculty

Kristina Bezanson

kbezanson@umass.edu
Environmental Conservation
Faculty

“A project I worked on: Collaborated with other educators in Arboriculture and Urban Forestry on an Education Summit in, IL. A partnership by the Arboricultural Research and Education Academy (AREA), the International Society of Arboriculture (ISA), and The Morton Arboretum, the symposium brought together educators and researchers from across the country to advance urban forestry and arboriculture education. Committee members, Paul Ries, Director, Graduate Certificate in Urban Forestry, Oregon State University Jess Vogt, Assistant Professor of Environmental Science & Studies, DePaul University, Jake Miesbauer, Arboriculture Scientist, The Morton Arboretum Eric Wiseman, Associate Professor of Urban Forestry, Virginia Tech Cecil Konijnendijk van den Bosch, Professor of Urban Forestry, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Joe Hoffman, Instructor & Urban Forestry Technician, Mid-State Technical College, Wisconsin Rapids Campus Megan Dunning, Manager of Adult Learning Programs, and The Morton Arboretum.”

Forrest Bowlick

fbowlick@umass.edu
Geosciences & Environmental Conservation
Faculty

Forrest's work investigates the nature of teaching and learning in geography and geographic information science (GIS). He is especially active in research into the required knowledge, skills, and practices for expertise in GIS; especially as GIS demands more knowledge of computer science and programming.

Elizabeth Brabec

ebrabec@umass.edu
Landscape Architecture & Regional Planning
Faculty

“Culture and heritage, and how they affect our perceptions of land and nature are central to my research. Currently my research focuses on the role of heritage during migration and displacement, and how displaced people find “home” again. I study the role of land, cultural connections to it and different cultures organize their communities, particularly in the realm of urban agriculture and food systems.  Cultural landscapes and the heritage embodied within them are key to sustainable development practices.   Since different cultures have very different ways of shaping their communities and understanding nature, I work cross-culturally with communities in the United States and in locations around the world including: Canada, the Czech Republic, the Netherlands, Belize, and the Bahamas.”

Julie Brigham-Grette

juliebg@geo.umass.edu
Geosciences
Faculty

“I am a new 2020-2021 Kahn Fellow.  The project title is "Imagining Climate Change: From Slow Violence to Fast Hope. (from the website)
This yearlong Kahn project will bring together scholars from across the disciplines to ask how climate change forces—and inspires—us to shift our habits of thought, representation, and communication. We believe that recognizing the slow violence of climate change is urgent work. We will probe the magnitude of this slow violence while daring to envision and nurture the hope that turns indifference into action.”

Brett Butler

bbutler@eco.umass.edu
Environmental Conservation
Faculty

Researches attitudes and behaviors of family forest owners.

Paul Catanzaro

paulcat@umass.edu
Environmental Conservation
Extension Staff

Michael Dipasquale

dipasquale@umass.edu
Landscape Architecture & Regional Planning
Extension Assistant Professor

Jeffrey Ebdon

sebdon@umass.edu
Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Faculty

Piper Gaubatz

gaubatz@geo.umass.edu
Geosciences
Faculty

Carole Guerin

cguerin@umext.umass.edu
Nutrition/Extension
Nutrition Educator

Mark Hamin

mhamin@larp.umass.edu
Landscape Architecture & Faculty
Faculty

Mark Hamin's teaching, research, and outreach address the history and theory of sustainable community development relative to traditional and indigenous planning practices, especially in the context of historical and cultural preservation as well as of equitable and inclusive community engagement in the planning process.  He works with students to pursue inquiry that examines the long-term social and cultural dimensions of regional sustainability.

Elisabeth Hamin Infield

emhamin@umass.edu
Landscape Architecture & Faculty
Faculty

Rick Harper

rharper@umass.edu
Environmental Conservation
Faculty

“I currently lead/co-lead five integrated research-extension projects pertaining to understanding growth and development of trees in the built environment. These include 'conifers in the urban environment', 'American elm restoration', 'performance of oak spp. in the urban environment', 'community woodbanks & urban wood utilization', 'volunteers & professionals in municipal forest management'.”

Katherine Kahl

kkahl@umass.edu
Environmental Conservation
Faculty

Marla Lindsay

marla@eco.umass.edu
Environmental Conservation
Research Staff

Frank Mangan

fmangan@umss.edu
Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Extension Staff

Ezra Markowitz

emarkowitz@eco.umass.edu
Environmental Conservation
Faculty

“I'm an interdisciplinary environmental social scientist, so much of my research, teaching and outreach resides at the intersection of sustainability and "society". Most of my work focuses on human decision-making and public engagement in the context of both local and global environmental challenges, from climate change mitigation and adaptation to forest and fisheries management. Key stakeholders include government agencies (e.g., MA DEP on a household water use project), non-profit organizations, and the general public.”


Anita Milman

amilman@eco.umass.eu
Environmental Conservation
Faculty

“My research investigates the multi-level governance of water resources in order to understand and inform human responses. Around the world, intensifying demands for water resources, changes in the hydro-climatic cycle, and degrading water quality pose threats to human and ecosystems. Addressing these water resource problems requires the development of effective governance structures and instruments at multiple scales. Frequently jurisdictional boundaries do not align with the geographic or social boundaries of the policy concern being addressed. Further, in water governance, polycentric and/or nested institutional structures are ubiquitous. Thus coordination across multiple organizations in the development and implementation of policies is vital. My research on multi-level water governance examines surface and ground waters that cross international boundaries as well waters that are confined within country borders. All of my work is empirically grounded, focusing on real-world problems and incorporating an analysis of place, local institutions and perceptions. While my research is deeply embedded in the social sciences, it interacts with and requires in-depth knowledge of natural sciences and engineering. By bringing bridging these boundaries, my research contributes to theoretical understandings of institutions, policy-implementation and science and technology studies. It also provides useful insights into how laws and policies can be developed and implemented most effectively.”

Darrel Ramsey-Musolf

darrel@larp.umass.edu
Landscape Architecture & Faculty
Faculty

Amanda Robillard

arobillard@eco.umass.edu
Environmental Conservation
Research Staff

Robert Ryan

rlryan@larp.umass.edu
Landscape Architecture & Regional Planning
Faculty

Charlie Schweik

cschweik@pubpol.umass.edu
Environmental Conservation & The School of Public Policy
Faculty

Frank Sleegers

sleegers@larp.umass.edu
Landscape Architecture & Regional Planning
Faculty

Stan Stevens

sstevens@geo.umass.edu
Geosciences
Faculty

Eve Vogel

evev@umass.edu
Geosciences
Faculty

Paige Warren

pswarren@eco.umass.edu
Environmental Conservation
Faculty

“My research focuses on human-environment interactions in urban ecosystems. I collaborate with social scientists from a wide variety of disciplines in this work, including landscape architects, political scientists, anthropologists and geographers. We aim to understand human perceptions of urban ecosystems and ways to improve access to ecosystem services for people in cities. Projects have typically included municipal stakeholders (community greening organizations, city parks departments, departments of conservation), but also federal partners (US Forest Service).”

Benjamin Weil

bweil@umass.edu
Environmental Conservation
Faculty