Food Systems & Security

The School of Earth & Sustainability is proud to represent the departments, faculty, researchers, and staff that comprise our membership. 

We have eight areas of excellence that unite the SES community. Our convergence research is adaptative and wide-ranging, examining the most pressing societal challenges of our time. View our Food Systems & Security experts and learn about our contributions, innovative approaches and discoveries in Food Systems & Security.

 

Wesley Autio

autio@umass.edu
Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Faculty

Sarah Berquist

Berquist.sarah@gmail.com
Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Faculty

“My work focuses on agricultural and farm/garden-based education, social equity, and food justice. In my course series Agricultural Leadership & Community Education, students explore their own social identity and use that as a frame to understand teaching and learning in sustainable agriculture and food systems education. In partnership with the Amherst Public School Gardens, I co-manage an internship program that provides education-focused Sustainable Food & Farming students the opportunity to practice designing & leading lessons in the school gardens. In addition, I work in partnership with the UMass Student Farm Food Access Initiative to redistribute excess produce to local relief organizations and advocate for educating the campus community about food security, food justice and food sovereignty.”

Prasanta C Bhowmik

pbhowmik@umass.edu
Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Faculty

Elizabeth Brabec

ebrabec@umass.edu
Landscape Architecture & Regional Planning
Faculty

“My work in cultural landscapes and as the Director of the Center for Heritage and Society at UMass includes research and analysis of culturally appropriate food systems, and how those food systems support food security and resilience.  I study the role of land, cultural connections to it and how cultures organize their communities within it, particularly in the realm of urban agriculture and food systems.  Cultural landscapes, landscapes produced by the interaction between humans and nature, are key to sustainable development practices.   Since different cultures have very different ways of shaping their communities and understanding nature, I work cross-culturally with communities in locations around the world including: the US, Canada, the Czech Republic, the Netherlands, Belize, and the Bahamas. Understanding other cultures illuminates our own, and understanding indigenous and traditional lifeways can often lead to the reemergence of sustainable practices.”

Amanda Brown

amandabrown@umass.edu
Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Faculty

“The primary focus of my work is on educating students about the importance of supporting and building local food systems in their communities.  For more than a decade I have worked to create a student- led sustainable food production system on campus.  Through the UMass Student Farming Enterprise program students are able to apply concepts they learn in the classroom to a real word setting.  In addition to organic vegetable, fruit and livestock production concept application through the program includes to marketing, accounting, food justice and cooperative business management among others.”

Nicole Burton

ngburton@umass.edu
Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Faculty

Renee Ciulla

rciulla@umass.edu
Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Faculty

Jon Clements

jmcextman@gmail.com
CAFÉ
Extension Staff

Has over many years collaborated on grants and regional projects including eXtension, iPiPE, and NC-140 Regional Roostock Research Project.

Carey Clouse

clouse@umass.edu
Landscape Architecture & Regional Planning
Faculty

Daniel Cooley

dcooley@umass.edu
Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Faculty

“My career has focused on the interaction of agricultural sustainability and plant diseases. My research and outreach program at UMass has developed more sustainable methods to manage diseases in fruit crops, particularly apples. This involves integrated pest management, IPM, and developing ways to help growers use effective and ecologically sound methods for plant disease management. I teach courses in plant disease management and on the different ways food and agriculture impact human and environmental health. Most recently, I’m working on using artificial intelligence and emerging cyber technology to enable growers to move from more toxic pesticides to more bio-based management methods.”

Michelle DaCosta

mdacosta@umass.edu
Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Faculty

Andy Danylchuk

danylchuk@eco.umass.edu
Environmental Conservation
Faculty

Lisa DePiano

ldepiano@umass.edu
Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Faculty

Om Parkash Dhankher

parkash@umass.edu
Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Faculty

Carole Guerin

cguerin@umext.umass.edu
Nutrition/Extension
Nutrition Educator

Mark Hamin

mhamin@larp.umass.edu
Landscape Architecture & Regional Planning
Faculty

Mark Hamin examines the history and theory of sustainability planning, with particular focus on regional food systems (sourcing, security, sovereignty) and on globalized political economies (technologically-transformed cultural foodways).
His dissertation in History and Sociology of Science addressed the emergence of 'scientific' food, nutrition, and dietary inquiry in late 19th/early 20th century US research institutions, as a response to the urban-industrial transformation of American food systems.  He works with students to identify innovative tools and techniques that promote sustainable food system planning and farmland preservation.

Masoud Hashemi

masoud@umass.edu
Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Faculty

Stephen Herbert

herbert@umass.edu
Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Faculty

Adrian Jordaan

ajordaan@eco.umass.edu
Environmental Conservation
Faculty

“We have a state funded project looking at the Massachusetts Seafood System, asking what UMass could do to be better aligned to the needs of the State, and to understand better the system and issues that stop it from achieving its full potential. This will help align multiple aspects of the seafood system across the UMass system.”

Isaac Larsen

ilarsen@umass.edu
Geosciences
Faculty

Elsa Petit

epetit@umass.edu
Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Faculty

Jamie Piñero

jpinero@umass.edu
Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Faculty

Research is aimed at developing more sustainable pest management systems. Examples include developing ecologically-based pest management tools and strategies that can be used by a variety of stakeholders.

Justin Richardson

jbrichardson@umass.edu
Geosciences
Faculty

"My research focuses on metals in the environment. I focus on the toxic trace metals (such as lead and mercury), as essential nutrients (like calcium, magnesium, potassium), and metals that readily act as both (manganese, copper, zinc) depending on their concentration. I also leverage metals as indicators of geological and soil processes. I primarily study metals in unmanaged, managed, and urban forest ecosystems, but also examine agricultural systems for crops."

Yu Shen

sheyttmax@hotmail.com
Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Faculty

John Stoffolano

stoff@umass.edu
Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Faculty

Baoshan Xing

bx@umass.edu
Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Faculty

Xing’s work is on the use of nanomaterials in agriculture to increase crop yield and nutritional values; and soil contamination and food safety.

Angela Madeiras

madeiras@umass.edu
UMass Extension
Extension Staff

Marybeth Rowland

mbrowland@umext.umass.edu
Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Extension Staff

Susan Scheufele

sscheufele@umext.umass.edu
Stockbridge School of Agriculture
Extension Staff

Sai Sree Uppala

suppala@umass.edu
UMass Cranberry Station
Faculty