University Writing Committee

Chair: Michelle Trim (




The University Writing Committee will meet on the following dates during the 2017-2018 academic year:

Fall Semester
October 20
December 1

Spring Semester meeting schedule TBA

All Spring 2017 meetings will be held in Campus Center 805-09 and will begin at 1:00 p.m. unless otherwise noted.


The University Writing Committee shall:

  1. Recommend policies concerning the administration and operation of the University Writing Program;
  2. Monitor and oversee the Freshman Component of the Writing Program;
  3. Approve and monitor the Junior-Year Writing Component in the University’s academic units;
  4. Evaluate the program and, on the basis of this evaluation, suggest changes in procedures or policies; and
  5. Advise the Provost on the distribution of funds designated for the Junior-Year Writing Component.

Its membership shall be:

  1. Seven Faculty Members, selected at large;
  2. One Faculty Member from each School/College headed by a Dean, and One Librarian;
  3. The Director of the Writing Program, serving ex officio;
  4. The Associate Director of the Writing Program for Junior Year, serving ex officio;
  5. The Provost or a designee, serving ex officio;
  6. The Secretary of the Faculty Senate or a designee, serving ex officio, non-voting;
  7. One Graduate Student; and
  8. One Undergraduate Student.

From Chapter 6 Section 5 of the Faculty Senate Bylaws.