Faculty Senate Councils and Committees

Along with the full Senate and its Senators, the Faculty Senate is comprised of 24 standing Councils and Committees (as well as 4 Ad Hoc Committees and Joint Task Forces that have been established to review specific developments) that review the many academic proposals and University policy decisions that fall into the Faculty Senate's purview.  Each Council and Committee is charged with specific responsibilities described on its respective homepage, listed below.  For information on how to serve on a Council or Committee, please visit our Council and Committee Appointments page.  For a calendar listing of all council and committee meetings, please visit: Council/Committee Meetings Calendar


Academic Matters Council

Academic Priorities Council

Athletic Council

Campus Physical Planning Council

Commonwealth Honors College Council

General Education Council

Graduate Council

Health Council

Information and Communication Technology Council (ICTC) 

International Studies Council

Program and Budget Council

Public Engagement and Outreach Council

Research Council

Research Library Council

Status of Diversity Council

Status of Women Council

Student Affairs and University Life Council 

Undergraduate Education Council

University Relations and Advancement Council

Admissions and Records Committee

Nominating Committee

Research Computing Committee

Rules Committee

University Press Committee

University Writing Committee


Academic Honesty Board

Campus Planning and Resource Committee (Chancellor's advisory committee organized jointly with the Faculty Senate)

Committee on Language Proficiency 

Joint Task Force on Childcare Needs

Revising the Diversity General Education Requirement