The University of Massachusetts Amherst

Misra Awarded Conti Faculty Fellowship Award

Thursday, April 11, 2019

Joya Misra

Professor Joya Misra of the UMass Amherst School of Public Policy and the Department of Sociology has received a 2019-20 Samuel F. Conti Faculty Fellowship Award.  

The fellowships are awarded to UMass Amherst faculty members in recognition of outstanding accomplishments in research and creative activity and their potential for continued excellence. Recipients are given a one-year release from teaching and service duties as well as a $3,500 grant to support research during the fellowship year.  

Misra plans to write a book, based on a substantial body of work with collaborators, to serve as a toolkit for policymakers to address gender inequality. “The gender gap is driven in many contexts by the effects of parenthood,” she said. “My colleagues and I have been able to identify policy designs that leads to greater equity in employment and wages, and lower levels of poverty, including for single mothers and those less well educated. The book will translate statistical models providing this evidence into simple, easy to digest figures and case studies highlighting particular policy designs in countries with successful policies.”

The Conti Faculty Fellowship program, which is managed by the Office of Vice Chancellor for Research and Engagement, has been in place since 1981. In addition to Misra, this year’s Conti fellows are Professor Sabina Murray of the Department of English and Professor Baoshan Xing of the Stockbridge School of Agriculture. 

Professor Lee Badgett of the School of Public Policy and the Department of Economic received a Conti Fellowship in 2012.

About the School of Public Policy: Established in 2016, the UMass Amherst School of Public Policy is a hub for research and teaching, preparing students for leadership in public service. The program’s focuses include social change and public policy related to science and technology.

— Maureen Turner, communications manager, School of Public Policy