The University of Massachusetts Amherst

Saturday, APRIL 23, 2022


                          Jacques Schwarz-Bart                                      Erin Rogers and the New Thread Quartet  

                                                                    ​   ​                                                                                                          ​ 


Free Public Event — In the Bromery Center for the Arts

Festival Schedule Below! 

Click here to register for the festival! 

High School Competition | Community Saxophone Ensemble

Spend a day with us at the 39th Annual New England Saxophone Festival and Competition!

Guest artists New Thread Quartet and Jacques Schwarz-Bart will share their artistry and wisdom through classes, recitals, and an artist panel with Q&A.

Faculty guest artists include Romie de Guise-Langlois, Jeffrey W, Holmes, Fumi Tomita, and Tom Giampietro. 

Registration is Free and includes lunch!  *First 70 registrants will have lunch provided*

Anyone regardless of level can apply to play in the master classes or play in the community saxophone ensemble. Master classes and participation in the community saxophone ensemble are open to all! Just let us know you're interested! 

High School Students may also apply for the Gerry’s Music High School Competition. Prizes include $300 in gift cards to Gerry’s Music Shop, and you get to perform live to open for the guest artist recitals. First-round submission deadline is  April 8th.

COVID Requirements: UMass Amherst requires that all registrants are either fully vaccinated and have proof of vaccination, or that they have proof of a negative COVID Test within 72 hours of the event. The university currently has lifted it's mask mandate and we will be monitering this as the event gets closer. 

We hope to see you soon!

Jonathan Hulting-Cohen & Felipe Salles




 This program is made possible (in part) by a grant from the UMass Arts Council   


  1. Felipe Salles
  2.  Jacques Schwarz Bart 
  3. Erin Rogers and the New Thread Quartet: Jonathan Hulting-Cohen, Zachary Robarge, Erin Rogers, Zachary Herchen 
  4.  Jonathan
  5. Erin Rogers

9:00am: Community Saxophone Ensemble Rehearsal  

Noon: Community Saxophone Ensemble Performance 

12:15pm: Lunch 

12:30pm: Faculty and Guest Artist Panel Discussion/Awards and Sponsor Presentations

1:30pm Sponsor Booth Visits 

2:30pm Erin Rogers Masterclass 

3:00pm Sponsor Booths Close 

3:45pm: Jacques Schwarz-Bart Masterclass 

7:00pm: Recital featuring Faculty, Competition Winners, and Guest Artists