The Cleve E. Willis Experimental Economics Laboratory and Endowment

The Lab

The Cleve E. Willis Experimental Economics Laboratory was dedicated in May 2007. One end of the third floor of historic Stockbridge Hall was renovated to build this state-of-the-art lab, combining the original maple floors, newly polished, with the latest technology into a space that is as lovely as it is functional.

Lab design was driven by a ground-up assessment of best practices world-wide, resulting in great control and ease-of-use for efficient experimentation. Up to 36 subjects can participate at a time, yet workstations are organized in clusters of three. High fidelity audio and video is distributed to each of these clusters, ensuring that all participants can see and hear in this large space. Control of the lab systems can be managed from a station in the center of the room or from a glass-enclosed control room at one end.

The lab is designed for active learning, too, and is being used for experimental economics, econometrics, statistics, computing, and other Resource Economics classes. Switching between teaching and experiment modes, each with different requirements for participant visability, takes just a few minutes.

In sum, the Willis Lab is a beautiful and functional environment for experimentalists, subjects, instructors, and students alike.

The Endowment

The Experimental Economics Lab is supported by The Cleve E. Willis Experimental Economics Laboratory Fund. This fund provides for the renewal of the lab’s infrastructure over time to ensure that it remains a state-of-the-art facility far into the future.

How to Give

To make a contribution, call the Development Office at 866-450-UMASS or visit the secure UMass Amherst website. Be sure to designate that your gift be allocated to the Cleve E. Willis Experimental Economics Laboratory Fund in the Resource Economics Department.

(If giving onine, select the 'Other' option under Fund Designation and enter "Cleve E. Willis Experimental Economics Laboratory Fund--Resource Economics" in the box below.) Thank you!

Our Donors:
John F. Ahern
Marilyn A. Altobello
Elva F. Anderson
Scott F. Astrofsky
Attessa Bagherpour
Allen V. and Elaine C. Barker
Tammy L. Barlow Murphy
Christopher J. Barrett and Lori B. Sheehan
Paula S. Barstow
Sandra M. Bednowitz
Behan Planning Associates
William J. and Georgene A. Bramlage
Sylvia Brandt
Melissa A. Buczko
Bao V. Bui
Matthew R. Burne
Glenn R. and Colleen Caffery
Gwen E. Campbell
Judith Wesson Candage
James A. Caron and Mary M. Brennan
Thomas H. Carr
Julie A. Caswell and Richard T. Rogers
Stanley E. Charm
Philip B. Cheney
Fergus M. Clydesdale
James B. and Lynn A. Conant
Paula Z. Connor
Katherine M. Conway
Elaine M. Coveney
Russell M. Davenport
Nancy W. Denig
Mario and Gertrude M. DiCarlo
Joan J. Dirlam
Deborah A. Donovan
Holly L. Duda
Andrew Effrat and Nola V. Stephen
Julius and Edith Fábos
Charles and Mildred Feldberg
Tryggvi Felixson
T. Robert Fetter
John H. Foster
Frederick J. Francis
Nicholas A. Fyntrilakis
Hillary R. Gelardi
Michelle D. Gerry
Dana C. Glazier and Susan M. Shetterly
Joseph I. and Barbara H. Goldstein
Steven D. and Gay L. Goodwin
Duane W. and Anna F. Greene
John M. Halstead
William L. Hanlon
John K. Hagerty
Thomas F. and Barbara E. Hastings
Mary Virginia Holdsworth
John E. Joyce, Jr.
Briana C. Kane
Eileen P. Keegan
Helen Kesisoglou
Muhammad S. Khan
Paul T. and Ann M. Kostecki
Marie L. Kruschwitz
Guy R. and Kathleen J. Lanza
Leggett & Platt
James P. Leheny
Paul Lenkowski
Christopher P. Leonard
Loren P. and Corinne M. Lidsky
Chenfeng Lin
Edward H. Lindelof
Litigation Solutions, LLC
John V. and Cathryn L. Lombardi
Jayme E. Lowenstein
Maureen J. Maguire
Michael F. Malone
Sheila Mammen
Toni Ruth Manning
Martha G. Baker Revocable Trust
John H. McCallum
Daniel J. McCarthy
William J. and Jacqueline W. Mellen
Gilbert E. Metcalf
Microtest Laboratories Inc
James T. and Nicole M. Miller
L. Joe Moffitt
Kevin M. Moore
Bernard J. Morzuch and Cheryl D. Smith
John R. and Judith A. Mullin
New York Farmers
The Hon. Gary A. Nickerson
Yumei Ning
Ryan A. Noble
Kim Johnson Oswald
Edward A. Pachico
Michael C. Palmer
Robert D. Perlack
Frederick A. Poland Jr.
Harold S. and Judith H. Ricker
George Rizopoulos
Raymond F. Robar
Ruth A. Sadowsky
Carol L. Sarnat
Gerald L. Schafer
Aida Schreicer
Kenneth S. Sewall
Herbert E. Shepard
Vivien H. Singer
Thomas C. Slane
Christopher D. Stanley
Pamela J. Starr
Peter B. Stearns
Stockbridge Foundation, Inc.
David A. Storey
Barbara A. Talenda
Diann E. Tolpa
Melanie M. Tringali
Peter D. Tripp
Joseph and Yolanda Troll
Norman P. Upton
Bernardo A. Urdaneta
Jon L. Vencil
Andriana S. Vlachou
Lance P. Wade
Dean Cleve E. and Barbara A. Willis
John D. Wilson
George M. and Celeste D. Yocher
Jun Zhang