Guidance to Researchers Involved in International Collaborations

Foreign Influence Disclosure Guidance

The following contacts are available to provide guidance to researchers involved in international collaborations. If you are unclear on the best approach, please contact the Office of Research Compliance at (413) 545-5283 or rescomp@research.umass.edu)

Office Key Point of Contact Confer in case of:
Office of Pre-Award Services (OPAS) James Ayres, Director
(413) 577-1594
jayres@research.umass.edu
  • Proposals for grants/contracts/subcontracts including w/ foreign governments and agencies
  • Proposed effort commitments
Office of Post-Award Management (OPAM)

Carol Sprague, Director
(413) 545-0698
sprague@research.umass.edu

  • Grants/contracts/subcontracts, including w/ foreign governments and agencies
  • Effort commitments/obligations
Office of Research Compliance (ORC)

Jennifer Donais, Asst. VC
(413) 545-5283
(413) 545-5896
jadonais@research.umass.edu

  • Conflict of Interest/Conflict of Commitment disclosure
  • Foreign engagement analysis
  • Data sharing/transfer
Technology Transfer Office (TTO)

Burnley Jaklevic, Sr. Licensing Officer
(413) 577-0651
bjaklevic@research.umass.edu

  • Disclosure of potential invention or IP
  • Use of university name or trademark
  • Use, acceptance, or transfer of proprietary information or materials
International Programs Office

Andrea Campbell Drake, Director of Health Safety and Security
(413) 545-4350
andreadrake@ipo.umass.edu

  • International Travel guidance
  • Study Abroad Programs
International Scholars & Students

Kenneth Reade, Director, International Student and Scholar Services
(413) 545-5251
kjreade@ipo.umass.edu

  • Hosting international staff/students
  • Hosting foreign visitors/researchers
  • Visa & Immigration questions
IT Security & Compliance

Matthew Dalton, Chief Information Security Officer
(413) 545-4475
matthew.dalton@umass.edu

  • Data theft/Information Security incident
  • IT Risk & Security Assessments
  • Loaner equipment for foreign travel
Export Control

Daniel Sacco, Associate Director, Research Compliance
(413) 545-3468
dansacco@research.umass.edu

  • International agreements
  • Export control licensing analysis
  • Security & intelligence/due diligence
Advancement

Theresa M. Curry
(413) 545-5867
theresa.curry@umass.edu

  • Foreign donors/gifts
  • In-kind donations