Winter 2019 Newsletter | Awards and Updates

Successful Master's Thesis Defense:

Marcelo Correia, Brien Goodwin, Sungha Kang, and Qiuli Ma.

Successful Doctoral Dissertation Defense:

Daniel Vahaba

Awards and Honors

Maureen Perry-Jenkins Honored by NCFR for Outstanding Scholarship
Faculty member and director of the Center for Research on Families, Maureen Perry-Jenkins, has been selected as the 2018 recipient of the Ernest W. Burgess Award by the National Council on Family Relations (NCFR). This award recognizes an NCFR member's outstanding scholarly achievement in the study of families.

Familiarity breeds tolerance: Linda Tropp honored for influential ‘contact theory’ analysis
Linda Tropp and her group of researchers spent over five years “trying to find every study on intergroup contact we could,” she says. 
Tropp has been selected as a recipient of the 2018 Scientific Impact Award from the Society of Experimental Social Psychology (SESP), which “honors the author(s) of a specific article or chapter offering a theoretical, empirical, and/or methodological contribution that has proven highly influential over the last 25 years.” 

Linda Tropp Elected Fellow of the Society for Personality and Social Psychology
Linda Tropp has been elected a Fellow of the Society for Personality and Social Psychology (SPSP). This fellowship "identifies SPSP members with extraordinary and longstanding contribution to SPSP and the field of Personality and Social Psychology." 

Natasha de la Rosa receives 2018 Edna M. Dahlquist Scholarship
The Department of Psychological and Brain Science's Graduate Studies Committee has selected Natasha de la Rosa to receive a 2018 Edna M. Dahlquist Scholarship. The Dahlquist Scholarship, offered annually, rewards the unique challenges and hardships that a student overcame to enroll in their graduate program, providing $2,000 per student to complement other sources of funding (e.g., assistantships, fellowships). These funds may be used to support research and/or help with general living costs. 

Fernanda Ferreira '88 PhD elected 2019 Fellow of the Cognitive Science Society
Fernanda Ferreira '88PhD, a psycholinguist and professor of psychology at the University of California, Davis, has been elected a 2019 Fellow of the Cognitive Science Society. Fellows of this society are individuals whose research has exhibited sustained excellence and had sustained impact on the Cognitive Science community.

Michael Constantino delivered an invited colloquium presentation to the Department of Psychology at Pontifical Catholic University in Santiago, Chile. The talk , which was delivered on November 22, 2018, was titled, "Motivational interviewing as an evidence-based, interpersonally-responsive intervention for generalized anxiety disorder."

Alice Coyne, a graduate student in the Psychotherapy Research Lab, was awarded a Dissertation Research Grant from the University of Massachusetts Graduate School for her project titled, "Understanding why some therapists’ alliances are more therapeutic than others: The role of facilitative interpersonal skill." She also received the Student Excellence in Teaching/Mentorship Award from Division 29 (Society for the Advancement of Psychotherapy) of the American Psychological Association.

Alumni Updates

Rosanna Breaux ‘17PhD has accepted a tenure-track position at Virginia Tech.