The University of Massachusetts Amherst

STRIDE Faculty Fellows Program

The Associate Provost for Equity and Inclusion invites your participation in a program aimed at advancing faculty diversity at UMass Amherst. The STRIDE Faculty Fellows Program provides UMass Amherst faculty with the opportunity to support diversity, equity, and inclusion in faculty recruitment.

Through the fellows program, we wish to ensure that the STRIDE (Strategies and Tactics for Recruiting to Improve Diversity and Excellence) Faculty Recruitment Workshops continue to be faculty centered and faculty driven, examining challenges of recruitment in different contexts. This will be a one year program, with the goal of continued engagement either through STRIDE or other recruitment initiatives developed during the fellowship year. We aim to select a cohort of faculty representing the range of diversity on our campus. No prior experience with STRIDE is necessary, only a commitment to promoting faculty diversity.

The STRIDE Faculty Fellowship Program is sponsored by the Provost’s office and the Office of Equity and Inclusion, and complements other efforts to support faculty diversity, harnessing the knowledge and experience of our faculty to advance diversity, equity and inclusion in recruitment.

We welcome applications from all tenure-track faculty, non-tenure track faculty on continuing appointments, and librarians on continuing appointments.

STRIDE Faculty Fellows will:

  • Attend three two-hour training sessions in late August and September 2022
  • Co-lead two two-hour STRIDE Workshops over the course of the AY 2022-23
  • Cultivate faculty members from their colleges/departments to become future STRIDE Faculty Fellows
  • Continue engagement with STRIDE or other recruitment initiatives beyond the fellowship year (e.g. as a mentor; facilitator; or advisory board member)
  • Receive a $2,000 stipend for the AY 2022-23


2021-2022 STRIDE Faculty Fellows:

Gabrielle Abelard - Assistant Professor, Nursing, Psychiatric Mental Health

Lynn Adler - Professor, Biology

Michael Becker - Associate Professor, Linguistics

Maria José Botelho - Professor, Teacher Education & Curriculum Studies

Elizabeth Brabec - Professor, Landscape Architecture and Regional Planning

Sergio Brena - Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Molly Christie Gonzalez - Assistant Professor, Dance

Carey Clouse - Associate Professor, Architecture

Kirby Deater-Deckard - Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences

Isabel Espinal - Librarian, Research Services, W.E.B. Du Bois Library

Christiane Healey - Senior Lecturer, Biology

Jonathan Hulting-Cohen - Assistant Professor, Music

Cathal Kearney - Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering

Lisa Komoroske - Assistant Professor, Environmental Conservation

Agustin Lao-Montes - Associate Professor, Sociology

Alexandra Pope - Professor, Astronomy

Lisa Sanders - Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences

Monika Schmitter - Professor and Department Chair, History of Art

Thomas St. Laurent - Senior Lecturer and Undergraduate Program Director, Kinesiology

Cheryl Swanier - Senior Lecturer II, Computer Science

K.C. Nat Turner - Professor, Teacher Education and Curriculum Studies

Mwangi wa Gĩthĩnji - Associate Professor, Economics

Paige Warren - Professor, Environmental Conservation

Contact us with any questions: