# The University of Massachusetts (Amherst) Isenberg School of Management Department of Marketing

## **Department Bylaws**

These bylaws are intended to provide a framework for the cooperation, advice and consent of the Marketing Department faculty in the conduct of the Department's affairs within the general framework of the organization and regulations of the Isenberg School of Management and the University of Massachusetts (Amherst).

### TABLE OF CONTENTS

- I. Faculty Membership in the Department
- II. Departmental Meetings
- III. Department Committees

#### I. Faculty Membership in the Department

- A. All persons holding regular or temporary department appointment to an academic rank as lecturers, instructors, assistant professors, associate professors, professors, and will be considered as members of the Department of Marketing.
- B. Faculty in tenure-track positions including those who have not yet earned tenure are considered as voting members.
- C. Faculty in full time non-tenure track positions are considered as voting members with the exception of votes regarding hiring, tenure, promotion and retention.
- D. Faculty who are on full or part-time leave of absence or reduced time will be allowed to vote.
- E. The Department Chair is a member of the faculty who is assigned the special duty of administering the department. S/he cannot participate in her/his capacity as faculty member other than organizing and participating in department meetings that concerns administrative issues.
- F. The Department Chair and faculty share in the governance of the Department in accordance with the CBA.

#### II. Departmental Meetings

- A. Department meetings are called by the Department Chair or at the written request of a simple majority of the voting faculty. Typically there will be at least two meetings per semester during the academic year. Additional meetings may be convened depending on the need and circumstances.
- B. In matters that do not involve personnel cases voting can any cases voting can simply involve a show of hands. In other cases, specifically personnel cases, voting may require a secret ballot vote.
- C. The agenda for a meetings will be prepared by the Department Chair and distributed to the faculty prior to the meeting. Additional items may be suggested by individual faculty and, at the discretion of the Departmental Chair, be added to the agenda.

#### III. Department Committees

- A. The department chooses to act as "Committee-of-the-department-as-a-whole" in the following matters:
  - 1. Hiring of new faculty
  - 2. Awarding tenure
  - 3. Promotion with or without tenure
- B. Other recommendations will be made by 'ad hoc committees."
  - 1. Members to this committee will be elected following voting procedures outlined earlier.
  - 2. Generally we have the following committees that are formed at a regular or 'as-needed' basis:
    - *a.* Merit Committee This is a sub-group of the DPC that evaluates the AFRS.
    - *b.* Curriculum Committee This committee is charged with evaluation current offerings, survey how other schools/colleges have structured their curriculum, and make recommendations.
    - *c.* Strategic Planning This committee is charged with crafting a strategic plan that dovetails with the Isenberg School and University of Massachusetts' plans.

#### IV. Conclusion

- A. These bylaws will be in effect for two years and revised and modified, if necessary, at the end of the two-year period and adopted for the next two years.
- B. New bylaws can be added any time during this period by a majority vote of all voting members.
- C. Specifically, these bylaws will be ratified in the very first department meeting in fall 2019 and will be in effect for the period September 1, 2019 until August 31, 2021.
- D. The version of bylaws that are in effect in spring 2021 will be discussed for any modification, addition, or deletion and ratified for the next two years, i.e. 2021 2023.