

Accounting Department Bylaws

Article I. Purpose

These bylaws are constituted in accordance with Article 12 of the UMass-MSP Collective Bargaining Agreement ("CBA"), and their purpose is to guide governance related to personnel matters for the Accounting Department in the Isenberg School of Management at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. As required by Article 12, these bylaws are subject to review by the Administration and MSP to ensure that the bylaws do not conflict with prevailing laws, UMass Trustee and University policies, and the CBA, which will prevail in any instances of conflict with these bylaws. These bylaws may not be construed to limit the rights of the Administration as preserved by Article 4 of the CBA.

Article II. Accounting Faculty and Faculty Votes

Accounting faculty refers to all unit and non-unit, tenure track and non-tenure track, part-time and full-time faculty within the Accounting Department.

Full-time accounting faculty and part-time accounting faculty with at least a 50% appointment will vote on general departmental matters, with part-time accounting faculty receiving a fractional vote proportional to their fractional full-time equivalency.

On matters for which the Department has a standing or ad hoc committee to deal with specific matters that do not impact general departmental policy changes, members of individual committees shall have an equal vote (e.g., Department Personnel Committee, Undergraduate Curriculum Committee, MSA Curriculum Committee, PhD Program Committee, Scholarship Committee). When these committees reach decisions that impact general departmental policy changes, those changes shall then be voted upon by the entire accounting faculty.

When hiring for a tenure-track position, all tenure-track and tenured accounting faculty shall have a vote on the Department's recommendation to the Dean on the extension of an offer to a candidate.

When hiring for a non-tenure track position, all tenure-track and tenured accounting faculty, and all non-tenure track accounting faculty serving on the faculty search committee, shall have a vote on the Department's recommendation to the Dean on the extension of an offer to a candidate. Non-tenure track faculty who are not serving on the faculty search committee shall have an advisory vote to that non-tenure track hiring recommendation.

Article III. Election of the Department Personnel Committee

The Department will annually hold an election of a Departmental Personnel Committee. The Accounting Department will accept nominations from any unit-member of the department faculty of any tenure-track unit-member of the faculty for service on the committee, including self-nominations. After nominations have been collected, the Department will hold an election by secret ballot in which three members and an alternate member of the Department Personnel Committee are elected. The alternate member of the Departmental Personnel Committee has voting rights on the committee only when one of the three members is absent, recused, or departed. Once constituted, the Department Personnel Committee will elect its chair.

Article IV. Letters for Tenure and/or Promotion of Tenure-Stream Faculty

During the tenure and/or promotion decision process of a tenure-stream accounting faculty member, the Department Chair shall solicit six (or more) letters from external, independent (i.e., "arm's-length") reviewers evaluating the faculty member's application for tenure and/or promotion. The composition of the list of external, independent reviewers solicited shall reflect both the faculty member's recommendations as well as the Department Chair's selections in accordance with university policy. In addition, the faculty member may optionally put forward the names of non-independent reviewers to be solicited for letters. Non-independent reviewers shall be identified and disclosed as such in accordance with university policy.

Article V. Effective Date and Amendment Procedures

These bylaws as presented in this document were approved by the accounting faculty by a vote of 15 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstained, and 0 absent, on February 21, 2017, and are effective as of that date. The Accounting Department may revise these bylaws at any time in the future, by majority faculty vote.

Signed to certify the accounting faculty vote adopting these bylaws,

Christopher P. Agoglia Accounting Department Chair

M. David Piercey Accounting Department Personnel Committee Chair