The University of Massachusetts Amherst

Faculty Development and Diversity

Faculty Development and Diversity

National Center for Faculty Development and Diversity (NCFDD)

UMass Amherst is an institutional member of the National Center for Faculty Development and Diversity. As such, institutional membership with the NCFDD is available to all faculty at no cost. 

The NCFDD is an independent professional development, training and mentoring community of scholars and students from more than 450 colleges and universities. Its resources are intended to benefit faculty and students of color, as well as all who are in need of general mentoring and looking for support during their career transitions.

As members, individuals receive access to resources such as monthly webinars; multi-week courses; a discussion forum for peer mentoring and problem solving; writing challenges; and access to the NCFDD member library, which includes past webinar materials, referrals and readings. The center also offers professional development training and intensive mentoring programs.

To activate your membership, visit the NCFDD website.

Faculty Success Fellows Program

The Faculty Success Fellows program supports UMass faculty participation in the National Center for Faculty Development and Diversity (NCFDD) Faculty Success Program (FSP). This NCFDD program is designed as a “boot-camp” and is aimed at increasing research productivity, developing effective time management skills, and cultivating healthy habits of work-life balance. For our program, a group of Faculty Success Fellows is selected each year from a pool of applicants. Those selected receive funding for the NCFDD Faculty Success Program and are supported by a UMass faculty mentor who has completed the program. 

The next call for applications will take place in the spring for academic year 2021-22. Faculty who do not receive a fellowship may still enroll in the Faculty Success Program directly with the NCFDD through their own funding, and are welcome to participate in the support component of the program.

2020-21 Faculty Success Fellows:
Farshid Abdi, Assistant Professor, Finance, Isenberg School of Management
Leontine Alkema, Associate Professor, School of Public Health & Health Sciences
Camille Barchers, Assistant Professor, Regional Planning, College of Social & Behavioral Sciences
Sade Bonilla, Assistant Professor, College of Education
Joohyun Chung, Assistant Professor, College of Nursing
Michele Cooke, Professor, Geosciences, College of Natural Sciences
Maria M. Galano, Assistant Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences, College of Natural Sciences
Molly Christie González, Assistant Professor, Dance/Dance Education, College of Humanities and Fine Arts
Rachel Green, Assistant Professor, Comparative Literature, Israel/Palestine Studies, College of Humanities and Fine Arts
Hyeyoung Park, Assistant Professor, College of Nursing
Elizabeth A. Sharrow, Assistant Professor, Political Science and History, College of Social & Behavioral Sciences
Enrique Suárez, Assistant Professor, Math, Science, and Learning Technologies, College of Education
Corine Tachtiris, Assistant Professor, Comparative Literature, College of Humanities and Fine Arts
Kathryne Young, Assistant Professor, Sociology, College of Social & Behavioral Sciences

2020 Faculty Mentor: Dr. Lorraine Cordeiro, Associate Professor