Academic Programs

Academic Programs

The University of Massachusetts Amherst offers more than 200 degree programs, over sixty departments, scores of minors and certificate programs, and thousands of courses. Explore our program offerings at our campuses in Amherst, Newton and Springfield, online, and via the Five College Consortium.

2019 Undergraduate Commencement

Explore majors, minors, and certificate programs, and learn how you can design your own major through our Bachelor's Degree with Individual Concentration (BDIC) program.

2019 Graduate Commencement

Offering more than 75 master's and nearly 50 doctoral programs, the Graduate School is committed to education that offers students the opportunity to excel in their chosen field of study and cross disciplinary boundaries to explore new areas of research and creativity.


UMass Amherst

The Commonwealth's flagship campus is a nationally ranked public research university offering a full range of undergraduate, graduate and professional degrees. Located in Amherst, Massachusetts, the campus sits on nearly 1,450-acres in the scenic Pioneer Valley of western Massachusetts, 90 miles from Boston and 175 miles from New York City. The campus provides a rich cultural environment in a rural setting close to major urban centers.

Mount Ida Campus

The Mount Ida Campus offers a wealth of opportunities for UMass Amherst students as they engage in their academic pursuits and prepare for meaningful and rewarding careers. The 72-acre campus is located in Newton, MA, approximately eight miles from downtown Boston. The Provost’s Office welcomes ideas from the faculty for advancing the university’s mission through curricular and scholarly activities at the Mount Ida Campus.

UMass Center at Springfield

The UMass Amherst Center at Springfield is a first-in-the-state partnership between the University of Massachusetts and other area institutes of public higher education, providing a central location accessible to each school's students. Located at Tower Square in the heart of downtown Springfield, the UMass Center at Springfield is easily accessible from every direction and major travel corridor in western Massachusetts.

University Without Walls

UWW is the driving force behind UMass Amherst’s innovative, accessible, and adaptable educational approach that supports students in balancing school, work, and personal life—no matter where students are or what stage of life they are in. 

Five College ConsortiumUMass Amherst is a member of the Five College Consortium with Amherst College, Hampshire College, Mount Holyoke College, and Smith College. This consortium, founded in 1965, unites UMass with top-ranked liberal arts colleges, two of the oldest women’s colleges in the country, and a young, unconventional campus to expand research, curricular, and cultural resources and facilities for all partners. The consortium facilitates intellectual communities and broad curricular and co-curricular offerings; affording learning, research, performance, and social opportunities that complement the distinctive qualities of each institution.