Five College Consortium

One University, Five-Colleges, and a Diversity of Higher Education Institutions

UMass Amherst is a member of the Five College Consortium with Amherst College (Amherst), Hampshire College (Amherst), Mount Holyoke College (South Hadley), and Smith College (Northampton). This consortium, founded in 1965, unites UMass with top-ranked liberal arts colleges, two of the oldest women’s colleges in the country, and a young, unconventional campus to expand research, curricular and cultural resources and facilities for all partners. The consortium facilitates intellectual communities and broad curricular and cocurricular offerings; affording learning, research, performance, and social opportunities that complement the distinctive qualities of each institution.

Shared resources include:

Higher Education in the Pioneer Valley

In addition to the Five Colleges, the Pioneer Valley is home to a rich array of higher educational institutions.

Metro Springfield Universities: American International College, Bay Path University, Cambridge College, Elms College, Springfield College, Western New England University, and Westfield State University.

Community Colleges:  Greenfield Community College, Holyoke Community College, and Springfield Technical Community College.