The University of Massachusetts Amherst

In Memoriam: Eileen O'Neill (1953-2017)

Monday, December 4, 2017

It is with deep sadness that we report the untimely death of Eileen O’Neill, Professor of Philosophy. Prof. O’Neill was a historian of early modern philosophy whose scholarly breadth, philosophical...

Dr Louise Antony - Keynote Address Duquesne University Symposium: Resurrecting Truth in American Law and Public Discourse: Shall These Bones Live?

Tuesday, October 24, 2017

On Nov.16,2017 Professor Louise Antony gave the Keynote Address for the symposium at Duquesne Law School in Pittsburgh, PA, Resurrecting Truth in American Law and Public Discourse: Shall These...

Heidi Furey UMass Amherst Philosophy Alumna joins team awarded $500,000 NSF grant

Friday, October 6, 2017

Philosophers Awarded Over $500,000 To Study Autonomous Vehicles...

Alumnus Dr. Kourken (Kirk) Michaelian receives prestigious award

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Tuesday, 15 August 2017 An internationally leading philosopher of memory, Dr Kourken (Kirk) Michaelian, is the latest recipient of the University of Otago’s Carl Smith Medal and Rowheath Trust...

Hilary Kornblith appointed Distinguished Professor

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

The Department of Philosophy at UMass is proud to announce Hilary Kornblith's promotion to Distinguished Professor. The title of Distinguished Professor is awarded to full professors with an...

Jessica Williams to be honored as "21st century leader"

Sunday, May 7, 2017

Jessica Alice Cierra Williams of Rockport, a double major in communication and philosophy with a minor in sociology. She served as a senator in the Student Government Association and a peer advisor...