January 4, 2024

Professor Emerita Ann Ferguson is awarded the 2023 SWIP Distinguished Philosopher Award by the Steering Committee of the Eastern Society of Women Philosophers.

Ann Ferguson began her career in 1964 here at UMass, where she retired in 2008. She taught and advised students both in the Department of Philosophy and in (what is now called) Women Gender Sexuality Studies.  

During her career, Ann produced pioneering work in feminist and political philosophy:  She was a leader in the development of intersectionalist theory, one of the architects of the "multiple systems" approach to integrating feminist, socialist, and anti-racist analyses, and one of the first philosophers to bring critical feminist and socialist insight to discussions of sex, love, and family.  

Ann was also devoted to teaching and to her students—one of whom, Lisa Tessman, is the current President of the Eastern American Philosophical Association—and has been tireless in her activism and organizing work around many feminist causes, including LGBTQ+ rights and reproductive justice.

Ann will be honored at a special session of the Eastern Division APA Convention: Tuesday, Jan. 16, from 11:00 - 12:50 (G6F) at the Sheraton New York, Times Square. Please join us in congratulating Ann on this richly deserved honor.