Maria Galano selected as UCLA HIV/AIDS Substance Abuse and Trauma Training Program Scholar

Maria GalanoMaria Galano has been selected as a 2019–21 UCLA HIV/AIDS Substance Abuse and Trauma Training Program Scholar. HA-STTP is a collaboration of the Center for Culture, Trauma and Mental Health Disparities, the UCLA AIDS Institute and the Center for HIV Identification, Prevention and Treatment Services.

Andrea Silva-Gotay receives NIH Blueprint D-SPAN Award

Andrea Silva-GotayAndrea Silva-Gotay has received a NIH Blueprint Diversity Specialized Predoctoral to Postdoctoral Advancement in Neuroscience (D-SPAN) Award. The purpose of the D-SPAN Award is to support a defined pathway across career stages for outstanding graduate students who are from diverse backgrounds underrepresented in neuroscience research. This two-phase award will facilitate completion of the doctoral dissertation and transition of talented graduate students to strong neuroscience research postdoctoral positions, and will provide career development opportunities relevant to their long-term career goal of becoming independent neuroscience researchers. 

Animal models of Alzheimer’s disease embrace diversity

old man looks at a cluster of tree branchesAgnès Lacreuse is interviewed in the article "Animal models of Alzheimer’s disease embrace diversity." She is examining how Alzheimer's progresses, and what early signs of the disease can be uncovered. Lacreuse is also recording behavioral measures in animal models such as memory impairment and sleep disturbances.
Read full article from Lab Animal

New views into the hearts and minds of preschoolers

child reads book in classroom


Imaging methods to allow researchers a more in-depth understanding of brain-heart coordination in young children

University of Massachusetts Amherst researchers have been awarded a $390,483 grant from the National Science Foundation to investigate the role of coordinated brain and heart activity in the rapid development of self-regulation in 3- to 5-year-olds.

Fall 2019 Newsletter

campus pond with sun shining on old chapel

Read our Fall 2019 Newsletter, including spotlights on our talented undergraduates, graduates, faculty, and alumni!

Read full issue

Features include:

  • PBS Open House, Oct. 25th 4:30-6:30 pm
  • Aspects of attention and vulnerability to distracted driving
  • Emotions and emergency medicine
  • Creativity in science, David Nikom '17
  • Finding neuromechanisms of decision making
  • PBS welcomes new faculty

Graduate peer mentors launch First Year Experience seminars

Graduate peer mentors outside Tobin Hall

L-r: Merika Wilson, Molly Mather, Sarah McCormick, and Joel Ginn

The First Year Experience is a continued orientation seminar series for incoming graduate students organized by PBS graduate peer mentors Sarah McCormick (Developmental Science), Joel Ginn (Social Psychology), Merika Wilson (Cognition and Cognitive Neuroscience), and Molly Mather (Clinical Psychology).

New directions in adoption

Hal poses with members of Barnardos

Presentation to Barnados Australia staff, Sydney August 28, 2019. L-R: Penny Hood (Executive Manager, People & Practice); Kerry Moore (Executive Manager, Executive Manager Safety & Prevention Regional/Rural NSW & ACT); Mel Andrews (Executive Manager Safety & Prevention Metropolitan NSW); Professor Hal Grotevant (UMass Amherst); Dr. Robert Urquhart (Head of Knowledge, Outcomes and Research); and Lisa Vihtonen (Operations Manager, Adoptions).

Hal speaking at podiumHal Grotevant, Rudd Family Foundation Chair in Psychology, traveled to Sydney Australia in August 2019 to give a series of presentations and consult with university and private sector practice colleagues about new directions in adoption in the United States and in New South Wales.

Ervin Staub receives 2019 Kurt Lewin award from the Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues

Ervin StaubErvin Staub, Professor Emeritus of Psychology, is the recipient of the 2019 Kurt Lewin award from the Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues. This award is given “for outstanding contributions to the development and integration of psychological research and social action.”