Built in 1885, the Old Chapel is the most iconic and significant historic building on the UMass Amherst campus. Designed in the Richardsonian Romanesque style, the building originally housed a library, auditorium, and classrooms. It later became home to the Minuteman Marching Band in the 1960s, before officially closing its doors in 1996.
The Chapel was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2015, and began a $21 million renovation, and preservation effort to restore the building to its original glory. The revitalized Chapel reopened in 2017 and now serves as a first stop for prospective students and their families. Events, such as lectures, dinners, receptions, and weddings held in the Great Hall are enjoyed by students, faculty, and alumni.
View the full picture gallery